Can one Blog Pain Away?

No, I’m not looking for sympathy or advice; I’m just experimenting.

I’ve got the most excruciating post-op gum pain and have tried everything, short of lacing into a bottle of brandy, to try and switch off what feels like an electric fence on high volume pounding in my mouth and jowls.

It’s basically a great day in Ireland as the Referendum on Gay Marriage has been passed and there is a wonderful sense of celebration. I feel intensely proud to be Irish and it seems like there is a whole new air of hope sweeping the country.

I reckon there are  two main possible approaches to dealing with physical pain:

1. Accept that it is part of the human condition ~ a friend who drops by in everyone’s life. Invite it in for a chat, a laugh, a cup of tea. Remember the pains of the past: the snapping of the leg in 1987 while heading for the train home from Dublin; the ballooning of the wisdom tooth  on the plane just 30 minutes out of Shannon on the way to San Francisco in 1983; the complete and utter seizing of the back the day after arriving home with baby in 1995

Doing very well already!

2. Drown it out with distraction ~ poetry, music, film. What music would I choose as an antidote? Now that’s a big question ~ heads to You Tube!

Ah yes, that one makes me laugh and even bop.

Feeling so much better now.

Blogging is magic!

'The Dread Storm is Passed.'
‘The Dread Storm is Passed.’

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

21 thoughts on “Can one Blog Pain Away?”

  1. Oh Jean! YES! You can blog pain, if not completely away, at least to an endurable ache. It’s sure helping me with mine since December!
    I am still offering my sympathy anyway! Mouth pain is one of those doozies. When I had my four wisdom teeth taken out (and three of them were impacted) no amount of drugs seemed to work. After taking what was “supposed to be strong enough for a horse”, my mother gave me a shot of brandy! (I’m thinking everything took effect at the same time and knocked me out!)
    Fabulous news on the gay marriage front. So very happy it passed.
    As for that video, how can you not smile through your pain? And twist in your chair! That video was priceless.
    Feel better! Hugs from Montreal!

  2. Yes Blogging is magic! I am not looking for sympathy either but I am in constant pain since I broke my back 5yrs ago. I also know what searing jaw and jowl ache is like so I so pleased that this post has lightened your pain. I actually started my blog because of the pain, my earlier poems are all about pain and hopelessness. Then a pain physiologist suggested I treat pain as a friend include it in my life……. or she said you have an imagination ( I talk a lot ) use it write your pain out …poetry came out and now I have a blog.
    I hope this will not sound trite but this too will pass. You will be amazed at how strong you are.. do not beat yourself up for feeling self pity get angry, get busy but take your painkillers and treat yourself to what you fancy.
    Huge Hugs!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    PS Congrats on the referendum!

        1. Absolutely! It also kept me sane during a most difficult time. (I also received love from all over the world ~ something I shall forever be grateful for)

  3. Well, congrats on your referendum Jean- well done Ireland! As for the pain – I’m a great believer in scotch. Single malt like Oban or Glenfiddich. When I turned 50 I sat down with an 18 year old bottle of Glenfiddich and drank it while pondering what I was going to do with my next 50 years. Ha!

    1. Hi Paul, the referendum was pretty special, that’s for sure.
      Now, on the matter of Scotch, it makes me think of a couple of TV programmes over here and the guys who have always had a love for it. Good taste!
      What was the outcome of the ponderings?

  4. Great experiment Jean 🙂
    I’m also happy for the result – yeah Ireland!!
    Sending healing light your way. I must admit as a child I was given whiskey to swill in my mouth when I had toothache….. can’t stand the stuff now!
    May the pain dissipate for good 😌

  5. I’m sorry you are having pain,, friend or not. If it were me, I’d be applying some castor oil on the area (outside, not in the mouth); it speeds up healing by mobilizing the lymph, so brings the good stuff to the area and speeds up the removal of toxins. If you try this, put a piece of wool flannel over the area or cotton, if you don’t have wool. Leave it on for as long as possible. Wash off the sticky with a teaspoon of baking soda in a cup of warm water. Works for a wide variety of things. The Latin name for Castor Oil is ‘Palma Christi’ for a good reason. I have a book called “The Oil That Heals” by Dr. McGarey Here’s a link to the book on Amazon, if you are interested: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/0876043082/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=httpstudioboc-20&linkCode=as2&camp=15121&creative=330641&creativeASIN=0876043082 I’ve used the oil for nearly 50 years with good success.

    In any case, I wish you speedy healing and also that your friend doesn’t stay too long.

    Blessings ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

