Addiction

Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford
Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford

The last few days have been absolutely gorgeous here in Tramore and I’ve been taking full advantage of the friendly sea for swimming.

The water hasn’t lost much heat since last Summer and there’s a perfect sun-trap under the wall down at beach.

Swimming in the sea is one of my major addictions. I just love the freedom of running into the waves with nothing between me and the endless horizon.

I’ve never studied ‘mindfulness’ but I know that there is nowhere like the sea to bring me right into the very heart of the moment. It’s a place that demands every single ounce of my attention. Day dream for a second and a big wave comes and splashes me on the face as if to say:Β Hey, you’re here now, Water Baby. Wake up!

The energy of sea just feeds my whole system and I simply adore the after-glow and surge of energy as I get dressed and bounce home with a true sense of being alive.

People often stop and stare as if I’m some sort of freak who wants to live in a freezer; or they often use the word ‘brave.’ Nothing could be further from the truth. I need the sea; I crave it. I always have and I just hope that there will never be a time when I can’t manage to somehow soak in it.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

36 thoughts on “Addiction”

  1. Hi Hariod. You certainly are a doubting Thomas.
    I’m absolutely serious. Quite a few people swim all year round here in Ireland. I’m by no means alone. The sea here in the South-East, as well as the weather, tend to be warmer than in other parts of the country.
    Not sure how I can prove it!

  2. I was a competitive swimmer and I even did sea swims but I hate the cold of the sea, even in Summer. However I do feel a massive connection with the sea. I feel at peace and so aware of how insignificant my own life is in the scheme of things.
    I admire your all year swimming. Well done you described it so well, but not enough for me to forget I hate the cold. πŸ™‚

  3. What are the temps there..here in MA, USA it’s in the minus single digits, though in January the L Street Brownies go for their first of the year dip…quickly in and out..gets the circulation going..That’s their yearly tradition…

  4. If you have to have an addiction–this is the one to have. It sounds like the water really energizes you. I love the water.. . but think that I’ll wait until summer to swim. πŸ™‚

  5. We have quite a few loonies πŸ™‚ over here that swim in the sea all year round. One group call themselves the Polar Bears. Another group raised money for charity last year by swimming in every accessible bay – and there are many. I’ll stick to the roads and lanes.

    1. Roy, thanks for the descriptor!
      Those lanes in Jersey are very appealing too. Found myself writing with a La Mare Vineyard wooden pen today. Unearthed it while tidying the ‘study.’

        1. Oh great! I think almost everyone in Ireland spent at least a weekend here in Tramore during their childhood or teenage years. I meet so many who are coming back like your husband!

Leave a Reply

