Caring

Confidence
Caress

I keep coming back to a particular poem which is playing over and over in my mind. I hope you like it as much as I do:

Caring

Caring is loving, motionless,

An interval of more or less

Between the stress and the distress.

 

After the present falls the past,

After the festival, the fast.

Always the deepest is the last.

 

This is the circle we must trace,

Not spiralled outward, but a space

Returning to its starting place.

 

Centre of all we mourn and bless,

Centre of calm, beyond excess,

Who cares for caring, has caress.

(F.R. Scott 1899-1985)

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

14 thoughts on “Caring”

Leave a Reply

