Blog Posts that Keep Dodging

I’ve realised over the last while that there are 6/7 posts that have been spinning around in my head for ages and which, for some reason, always seem to manage to avoid being the ‘chosen’ one.

I guess I’m not alone in this.

The odd thing is that I can’t really explain why the posts just don’t want to go ‘out there.’ They are very diverse and not ‘personal,’ apart from being in my thoughts.

This is a different thing than having draft posts written. These are posts that keep calling to be, at least drafted, but something in me refuses to go there.

Perhaps, this is where my Stepping Outย words for the year may help. We’ll see.ย 

Are you in the same boat?

The Blogging Boat
The Blogging Boat

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

46 thoughts on “Blog Posts that Keep Dodging”

    1. Sarah, normally I wok along the lines you mention. However, the dodgers are posts that sometimes feel like they’ve missed the boat and are standing pitifully on the quayside. They remind me a bit of a gang of kids who run off to a sweet shop while waiting for a bus and then end up stranded!

  1. I’m like that when it comes to knitting or baking. I have to mull it over in my mind and wait until the mood hits me. Sometimes it’s because of the work involved or not having the right materials on hand, so I procrastinate until I buy them, or feel like conquering my fears of doing something new.

  2. There have been numerous blogs I have written but in the end unsure if I want to “go there” I typically write them, wait 24 to 48 hours, and then go re-read and ask myself 1. Is this really that important to me? and 2. Will I feel as strongly about it in a week, a month, a year, 5 years. and if the answer is “yes” then usually I publish it, if not, just so it quits running around in my head. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love your thoughts and ideas and hope to get to read some of these.

  3. I trust that I’ll know when the time is right … or ditch it.
    In the meantime I keep coming up with ideas and wait and post whatever has the most energy around it ๐Ÿ™‚

        1. Interesting! I was reading a book of writer’s quotes the other day and I think it was Agatha Christie who said that washing up was her time for inspiration.
          Maybe I should do a spot of dusting!

  4. Yes, it is funny how that happens. I also notice when I quickly write my “silly little blog posts, ” never really intending to make them public. I end up publishing them and they turn out to be my most read and most commented. Who can figure?

    Nancy

    1. Hi Nancy, totally agree with you on this one. Often the posts that take forever and seem like they are worthier than the slapdash types seem to be the most read. BUT, there is the matter of how the writer feels about them. Come back to my last post about why write in the first place!

  5. This isn’t what you are talking about, but I have a few posts written that I keep moving their posting date further out into the future. Somehow they never seem like just the right post, so they lurk out there as a potential future post.

    1. Sheryl, it’s very close to what I’m talking about as the posts I’m referring to are written in my head.
      As a matter of interest, do your lurkers ever get published or do they just build up in the Drafts folder?

  6. I’m with Sarah on this one. I have lots of ideas at various stages on development, but somehow they’re just not cooked enough to make an appearance. So I just leave them until they are. They’ll come out when they’re ready. Or maybe they’ll never be ready.

      1. Indeed I do, Jean. And the subconscious works on them, or not, as the case may be. Ideas are just bursts of electrical energy sent out by our brains. There’s no reason why they can’t exist (and therefore be sent or received) outside of the human body. When I worked in a team (art director and copywriter) in ad agencies, we often call it ‘creating the third person’. It’s as though both of you are thinking, but the ‘third person’ comes up with the idea that neither of you had thought of.

        1. Hi David. That concept – the third person- is a favorite of mine. I’m not so sure that it is the electrical pulses that are passed – although, as you say, physics certifies that as an electrical current they do produce a magnetic field with frequencies that are readable and transferrable. However, calculus would suggest that those fields or pulses would not contain sufficient information to allow the transferrance of complex concepts. A roundabout way to say that any given electrical pulse can be initiated in multiple ways – it is not unique enough to carry a lot of information. It is a result of another more complex interaction. So, if as a physicist you were given a pulse to analyze, you could learn a lot about the circumstances that generated it but you could not say with any certainty how it was generated or what came before or after.

          Anyway, I suspect that we share something a lot deeper as humans than the electrical emanations of our brains – something that is related to why our brains do what they do and what defines an individual. At any rate, the third person you speak of seems to enter into a lot of our interactions. For instance in a good romantic relationship, there is ceated that third person that is only a function of the two individuals and yet is a totally separate person – much as the DNA of a male and female produce a child who has only pieces of the parents DNA and yet is a totally new, different and unique person. This is the physical equivalent of the spiritual 3rd person of which you speak. (As in a child, you will sometimes be able to identify small behaviours or interactions in the third person that are attributable to a particular individual)

          Any good relationship (beyond the romantic) can create this third and independent person – the strength dependant on the level of interaction between the individuals. This is no doubt the effect you were describing when you spoke about working with your creative team. There seems to be a natural limit to this whereby it is only doable with up to about 5 or 6 people – beyond that for some reason it does not seem as strong. This is actually a well accepted limit for effective teamwork. This could be because we never can seem to lose our egos enough to participate completely openly and the more poeple involved, the greater the effect of remaining ego residue. I’ve worked closely with teams of ths size upon occassion and it is emotionally debilitating although the result is incredible. I much prefer smaller teams of two or three however I have to admit, it does not seem to have the breadth of the larger team – it is more productive if not as inspirational..

          Anyway, what struck me about this third person when used in producing blog posts is that I think it is possible to go after those posts whose time hasn’t come yet. It may not be necessary to just wait until their time has come. If you increase the connectivity between the posts and your daily world I suspect that it is possible for links to become evident that will allow the posts to be brought down to the written word. In other words, i think the “waiting”is actually a process of finding a resonance with a known concept. If you aim at that, you can increase the likelyhood of its occurrence. This is like the third person creativity because that third person is a combination of conceptualization of the individuals. You can act as your own third person (to a certain extent) by increasing the linkage between your daily world and the post by keeping the post on mind as you tend other tasks. I used to find that i could do this best while driving (on highways and such where there os less intensity required for safe driving). So the post idea becomes one person and your daily life becomes a second person and you act as the third person by integrating them.

          Of course, I could be out to lunch, that is always a possibility too . Ha! great to meet you David. Thanks for making me think and allowing me to bend your ear.

          1. Hi Paul, what a fabulous reply. As you can see, my knowledge of physics and biochemistry leave something to be desired! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think what I’m also stumbling/driving at is the interconnectivity of everyone and everything in the universe. Something that allows us to tap into things that don’t necessarily live in our own brains. (Now, I’m the one out to lunch!)

            I think you’re right about being able to create the ‘third person’ on your own. There’s the subject you’re working on, you as a conscious person and your sub-conscious (or soul, some might say) that taps into everything else.

            And you’re right, you don’t have to wait for the idea. I just don’t tend to chase down blog post ideas. On the other hand, if I was working on a story and I reached a wall, I might set my subconscious a deadline to solve the problem, then go and work on something else for a while. The solution invariably manifests itself before the deadline and in the most unusual of locations!

            I suppose what all this really points out is that I have no idea where it comes from. Just some random imaginings of something more esoteric than it actually is!

            Great to meet you too, Paul. And thanks for your erudite response.

        2. Hi David! Thanks for the compliment. I agree that we share information seemingly through the third partty mechanism that we are discussing. I have given this some thought and have identified a number of sharing situations that I have observed. And surprisingly, it seems that we both “receive” and “transmit”. Some do one better than the other, some do both equally – many are not even aware they are doing this. So we transfer info and concepts individual to individual, group to individual, individual to group, and , the most scary, we seem able at rare times to become aware of information that has not yet become information – stuff from the future or stuff that no one knows and yet it is clear to us. I postulate that this is ony possible if there is a higher power and intelligent design. i am not a religious person but have done considerable reading in those areas. I find organized religion does not well represent my beliefs and I am very pragmatic when it comes to interpreting observations. I did a guest post over at Cordelia’s Mom that highlights a particular real situation that happened to me where information became available (sort of) before it existed – http://cordeliasmomstill.com/2014/11/22/the-teens-guest-post-by-paul-curran/ .So I am not in the least surprised when you say we share info on some level for I have experienced exactly that in ways that cannot be misinterpreted.

          Great meeting you David — I think we are sharing what Jean calls a Social Bridge. ha! She’s a special one.

  7. As a guest poster i have to give some thought to the tone and direction of the host’s blog. There are some overlaps – occassionally I’ll write a post that will fit most anywhere, sometimes I write a post for a particular blog. For instance I wrote a post about a blizzard and before it could be publishd, the area where the blogger was from was hit by a very bad blizzard and a number of people were killed. The host decided – and rightfully so – to pass on that submission so i found another blog that would publish it. Sometimes a post will, by its nature be “R” rated and will only fit a few blogs.

    That being said, i have a few posts that i would like to write but don’t have a home yet – so they are inside. But to address your question Jean, I sometimes find that I have a topic that I know would make a good post but it has too many side stories. So to do a good job it would make a better short story than a post. It is as if I follow a path from beginning to end by passing through a series of gateways moving from point to point – like crossing a river by stepping from rock to rock. Sometimes a particular gateway has multiple equally valid directions that emanate from it and only one can be chosen to get to the conclusion. But chosing that one leaves out important info to the story. As if in crossing the river there are five stones I could step to form the one i am on – and chosing one means finishing in one spot on the far side and chosing another means finishing in another point on the far side (different endings) and the truth is that all the endings are valid but I have to chose only one and hence leave out a big part of the story. To give an example the meaning of the story changes to the reader if I make the actions about another person, myself, God, weather conditions, equipment, rules, behaviour or leadership (or one of a zillion other possibilities). The real story may include all those factors but the post has to chose one. Sometimes a story only has one main controlling factor and the rest are ancillary. Those are easy to write – like The Teens. When there are multiple main themes, the post becomes harder or impossible to write well (as a post)- and it is left circling about in my head waiting for a chance to land.

    Good question Jean – i hadn’t really thought about it until you asked. Thank You.

    1. Paul, I think you’ve hit on a very important aspect of all this. Sometimes, it may be that a particular post holds too many ideas and would do better if it was divided up into say 3 or 4 posts. One of my dodgers certainly fits that category.
      Hope you don’t end up thinking about it too much. That’s definitely not a good idea!

      1. Ha! No fear Jean – they float out there not using any energy. Rather like David Milligan- Croft’s third person. It is almost as if i can feel them as an impervious object – no cracks or edges or way in to separate the idea into breakdonable pieces – yet. I suspect you are right Jean, each of these may be able to be broken into multiple posts. I actually hadn’t thought about a series. That could be done in posts and maintain a story-like feel. Thanks for the insight.

  8. I’ve got a few posts like that Jean and it isn’t that I don’t want to write them – quite often I’m looking forward to doing so, but for some reason keep putting them off. My last post was one of the ones that had been lurking for a long time ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hi Andrea, thanks for writing and the ‘it’s for some reason’ that has me intrigued. I’m going back to re-read your last post and see if it has any signs of once having been a lurker!

Leave a Reply

