Do You Blog for You or for the World?

Me
Why Blog?

The range and diversity of blogs never ceases to amaze me and I often wonder what’s motivating the bloggers to blog.

I’m talking here about ‘personal’ as opposed to business blogs.

The key question that underpins this matter is how much it matters to you whether people read your posts or not.

D14
The World

 

I’d love to hear your views.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

41 thoughts on “Do You Blog for You or for the World?”

  1. Sometimes it’s just for my thoughts on a subject while other times it’s in answer to a comment or query…I like to read what others may say on a subject that grabs my interest..a different point of view…

  2. I have only been blogging for around 8 months now, but my aim is to have a manageable readership, one with which I can interact both on my blog and theirs. This necessarily means there will be an optimum number of people with which to engage (not quite there yet!). I have avoided social media entirely though I gather that is the way to go if one simply wants traffic. That idea only makes sense to me if the flow of ideas is one way, such as it would be for people trying to promote their creative output.

    For myself, the joy and fulfilment in blogging comes through creating or participating in a community of individuals who become known to me and with whom there can be a degree of reciprocity. I like to think that I offer a little something to the world through my writing efforts, though am conscious that I receive more than I give. That is a natural outcome of spending 90% of my blogging time on others’ sites.

    An excellent question by the way!

    Best wishes,

    Hariod.

    1. Hi Hariod, thanks for commenting and I’m interested that you have such a strong sense of why your blogging.
      The avoidance of social media entirely is interesting. That’s the path I’ve taken in the last while and I’m glad I took it.

  3. I don’t have a blog of my own but i do guest blog. I see readership as an indication of the quality or value of the blog to others. When i write i am not thinking of the readers, only of transcribing my thoughts/experiences in the most honest and descriptive manner. That by definition, includes readers (being of the nature of communication which requires both a communicator and a communicatee). This is really a form of the tree falling in the forest question. It kind of semantics. If you define sound as the compression of the air – which is what we hear – then it does make a sound. If you are communicating with yourself (there is a funny but true saying that goes: How can I know what I am thinking until I hear myself say it?) then you can blog without an audience. If you define sound as the hearing of those compressions, then the tree that falls only makes a sound when someone is there to hear it. And likewise, if you wish to commuicate (not including yourself) then everyone blogs to an audience.

    I realized while writing this that I make an assumption when I blog – that I can communicate by expressing my thoughts through language. Which may seem self-evident but really isn’t when you think about it. There are many thoughts that can’t be described effectively – some require stories to frame them (parables in some cases) and some just need to be seen or experienced to be understood (for instance – describe the color green).

    Interesting question Jean – thanks for the venue to talk about it.

    1. Hi Paul, thanks for such an interesting response. Of course, there’s also the matter of people who cannot write for whatever reason/s and those who cannot use computers for whatever reason/s. I often feel that these are the forgotten in ‘blogland.’

  4. Like Willow, I would be a liar to say I don’t care if anyone reads me… But I do not write a post thinking *this* one will really get people’s attention… It is mostly to just share my thoughts, put myself out there and see what happens. I have been blessed to have found people who have become friends in this Blogosphere. People that, should I ~ make that WHEN I ~ cross the pond, I would be delighted to meet in person!

  5. I blog to connect to others. My primary motive is to share what I have learned in finding contentment in the highs and lows of life.
    It isn’t a business, but I do have a message to share 😉
    I also love the sense of community and conversations!

  6. I used to write because I needed to write, without knowing who was reading. Now I know others read but I still need to write. I do think I write to be read. If I didn’t want to be read or care about readers why would I publish.
    I do tend to share less of what I write on facebook as I ‘know’ too many of my readers there in real life.

  7. I think the “to connect” answer is the best, though I started blogging to keep myself honest on getting my downsizing tasks accomplished. I learned that I love it when I find out that someone actually reads it (!) and especially love the interaction of comments. I don’t often get many, but I love it when I do. That said, the time is coming when I need to set a goal for an end-date.

    1. Hi Sandy, must say that you certainly connected with me on the downsizing issue. Do you think that your blog will go when you feel you’ve got that finished. I, for one, would miss it terribly.

  8. Great question Jean. Speaking only for myself I blogged for many years without any outside interaction – and I didn’t expect any. It was a sort of a journal or diary. Only recently have I started engaging with other bloggers and I’m happy to have met some lovely people online. But, if no one read or responded to my stuff, I’d carry on regardless. So I guess it’s primarily for me.

    1. Hi Roy, you certainly speak from the heart,
      You make me interested in ‘private blogs.’ I think they can be great as a form of diary, though there’s always that issue that they could somehow fly into the public domain.

  9. I started out writing for myself. Slowly the blog morphed into something else, still not sure what that is though…. I now seem to write for the readers as well as myself. I like the interaction between the readers and writer.

      1. Should have clarified that. At first I envisioned something for just my immediate circle of friends but it became public from the start as a password protected blog seemed too cumbersome…

        1. Thanks for the clarification. Must say I never thought of writing for an immediate circle of friends. In fact, it often feels easier to write when you don’t actually ‘know’ your readers or, at least, that’s how I feel.

  10. Interesting post (as usual), J. I believe this is something all bloggers think about from time to time… why am I doing this and for whom? I do it for myself but I’m also very grateful for my readers (of course). I’ve been thinking about leaving the blog world, but I’m still here. Have a nice week!

  11. Mostly for me as a diary and sometimes to test the water – that’s not to say I don’t like feedback. I would now be disappointed if the many generous words and virtual ‘friends’ disappeared but that’s not why I started.

  12. Interesting comments. The real question is perhaps to know why do we do anything. It isn’t always obvious, but there is always some motivation. And since it is some payment required of us by our inner selves, it will be hard to get away from the suspicion of some selfish motive. Often write with some others in mind–some little thing with which that they might find a connection or laugh, but is it not for me that I make it public? Even if it is something about a clarity of thought, let us not forget the powerful desire to be understood. And that is true, even when we wear masks to cause the understanding to be a more tedious assignment. So, why do I write? Sometimes I just don’t seem to be able to do anything else.

  13. Jean, a good point you have raised and I have often wondered that myself.

    I am inspired by my experiences or the energy outside and around me…Through some blogs I see a longing to belong to the world, perhaps to belong to themselves. For others it is a way to verbalize and express their deepest thoughts and inspirations. For some, their deepest sorrow and loss, and hurt with the world. I personally feel it takes courage to write a blog and allow your soul and your deepest secrets to be exposed to the entire world…I love writing, but as a creative person, not every day is creative, we do have our moments, and that is OK.. . Today I was at the local gas bar getting gas, and I marvelled and lamented at this young girl, who was able to back her truck in and beside the gas tank. I stood there as I fuelled up my vehicle, thinking ” wow ” I wish I could do that.. but as I went inside to pay for my gas, my inner voice finally caught up with me, and said ” no, you don’t like doing that, so please don’t try and fool yourself. You LOVE to write” My inner voice is very right ( its never wrong ha, ha,) I absolutely love to write and the older I get the more storiies I see throughout my day…I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t write…great post Jean and great food for us to ponder 🙂

Leave a Reply

