Stepping out with Heart

Heart
Heart

Today was one of those days when I would happily have tossed the computer out the window as it seemed to be on a go-slow. It dawned on me, then, that it was ailing so I spent hours backing stuff up and trying to ease the poor machine’s burden.

All seems seems well with it now but I’m writing this on hubby’s phone just to give the desktop a night off.

Little did any of us think, as kids, that it would be possible to communicate with the world on tiny little machines that don’t even seem to be connected to anything.

Back in the day when my father was a kid in the 1920s and 30s, the town would gather around their house on Summer Sundays to listen to football and hurling matches on his father’s big radio which boomed through the open windows.

So, we should never, ever take computers for granted. They are an amazing invention.

And, as I bid you goodnight, I hope you like this quote from Norman Peale that took my fancy:

‘Throw your heart over the fence and the rest will follow.’

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Stepping out with Heart”

  1. Jean , that is a brilliant quote. I shall store it away for use at a later date. I can remember in the late 50s early 60s people congregating at neighbours houses to watch important events. I think I was thirteen before we got a TV. But we always had a radio. ❤

    1. Hi Willow, glad you like the quote too.

      Yes, we always had a radio but father never let us take it for granted!
      I remember so well the day our first televsion arrived and watching the Test Card and then the wonderful Blue Peter!

  2. Great quote Jean. I first started working on software development of email systems in 1983 …. little did we imagine! I could bore for Britain on how we got from where we were to where we are now 🙂

    1. Hi Robin, thanks for your comment. Yes, I can remember studying computing in the late 1970s when computers took up whole rooms! It’s beyond amazing how far we’ve come. I think it’s progress but sometimes I wonder. What’s your sense of it, having been involved from back then?

      1. Yes, I started on the big ones in 1971 and moved onto the smaller distributed systems in ’83. The progress is inevitable and mostly for the common good – computing is no longer the scientific art form it once was when memory, storage and processing power was a fraction of what it is now. In some ways that’s a shame.

  3. E-mails are great for keeping up with what’s going on, but I like the notes and the letters that were sent via mail. Some of these are precious to me as the writer has since passed on and I can read and re-read these without having to think that I will lose them or put them on another disc to collect dust somewhere..You can’t replace the handwritten, heartfelt letters, the stationary that was used for that personal touch. Technology is great but I still like to hold on some things from the past. Your quote is a keeper..

  4. I hope you get your computer sorted. Luckily enough for me my husband repairs them 🙂 Computers are great, without them I’d either be very bored or the house would be spotless.

  5. Our dad was a ‘ham’ radio operator who loved to talk to people from other places. My brother and I often say how much we wish he could have lived to see how the internet (and blogging) has made that experience so accessible — and visual — that we take it for granted now. I love hearing from your corner of the world.

  6. I think my earliest radio experience might have been ‘Listen With Mother’ but the first I remember was listening to a football commentary. It was Brazil v England on 10th June 1962 from Vina del Mar, Chile in the World Cup. It kept fading in and out. The Net hasn’t got half the magic!

Leave a Reply

