Stepping out with Compassion

Inspiration
Inspiration

Sometimes the inspiration for posts comes directly from comments that are made by readers and this is one of those occasions.

Yesterday’s post about the Accident and Emergency Crisis brought a response from Willow which has been playing on my mind all day. Here’s what she said:

Empathy, compassion, human kindness, dignity where has it all gone?

So, this is what appeared on scraps of paper over the day:

Compassion

I’ve had to adapt to a changing world.

Automation, not communication;

money, profit, things, stuff.

I had to get out, I’d had enough

 

You could say I lost my home.

Slept rough, wandered aimlessly,

drank too much, numbed my mind,

cried bitter tears at being left behind.

 

I’m still the same old me at heart;

too sensitive maybe, too sensitive.

Nature’s  been my saving grace.

I live with her in a secluded place.

 

Should you want to call me, call to the stars or

touch the branch of any tree, any tree.

You’ll see me in deep, caring eyes.

I’ll hold you if your hoping ever dies.

Compassion
Compassion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “Stepping out with Compassion”

  1. I think the question is whether ‘compassion’ is perceived as being too sensitive in a world that can’t deal with it very well.
    I’m glad the poem resonated with you. Thanks so much for writing.

Leave a Reply

