Stepping Out into Irish Snow

Snow is very rare here in Co. Waterford which is in what is known as The Sunny South-East of Ireland. So, you have to bear with my childish delight when I saw that the Comeragh Mountains were white the other morning as I made my way to the beach.

There was clarity everywhere and the sea itself was rolling in like a carpet of snow.

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

Onwards towards the mountains and yet more contrasting colours:

The Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford
The Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford

The road up by Mahon Falls was a wonderland of colours that we so seldom see in combinations like this …

Snowy Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford
Snowy Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford

or this …

Craggy Peaks of the Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford
Craggy Peaks of the Comeragh Mountains, Co. Waterford

And way below, the Copper Coast was shimmering and calling me back down:

Copper Coast from Mahon Falls, Co. Waterford
Copper Coast from Mahon Falls, Co. Waterford

It’s on treasured mornings like this that my spirit flies freely over the ocean to snowy countries where many of my precious readers live.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

24 thoughts on “Stepping Out into Irish Snow”

          1. Today, in fact this entire week since my appointments on Monday, have brought a significant amount of pain and I cannot get out for the little outings to which I have become accustomed. Today, when I saw those photo’s I got lost, and it was/is beautiful; they brought tranquility. I could feel the air, navigate safely and such beauty. I often wonder when people post photo’s if they are aware of how they may impact a viewer. That is what you gifted me today and I am so grateful!

  1. Thanks very much for elaborating. I hope you’ll soon be out and about again.
    No, one never knows how a photo will impact on the viewer and that’s one of the wonders of blogging, I suppose.

  2. I love how the snow transforms everything. It’s magical. I’m glad you were able to enjoy some of that magic! Your photos are beautiful and I can imagine your excitement.

  3. It does look beautiful Jean – especially in contrast to the green grass. The beauty of a dusting of snow is always breathtaking – even more so where it seldom falls. Thank you for the pictures – they are wonderful.

  4. Yes the occasional snow, as in Ireland, can be dramatic. The hills to the south of Dublin are mesmerising when coated in snow, though it’s a nuisance for those living up that way. Similarly the Comeraghs look entirely different.

Leave a Reply

