Thoughts of Princess Sophie Rose ~ Companion Animal

Sophie and Me
Sophie and Me

It’s a year now since my beloved King Charles, Sophie, was facing her last night before I had to have her put down. She was a true companion for thirteen a half years ~ years that brought many highs and lows.

We called her Princess Sophie Rose after a character in a much-read children’s book and it suited her perfectly.

Sophie probably knew me better than anyone ~ she was always there with those beautiful eyes watching my every move and was empathy dogified.

She left her mark in so many ways: every hardback book chewed like the most delicious bone; paw prints on my heart marking the days and nights that she sat with me knowing I needed her.

I’m just glad she didn’t have to suffer and that I was with her right to the very end, holding her soft spaniel ears. Her ashes live here in the Study with me. I’d intended to scatter them out in the woods but couldn’t bring myself to do it and I’m glad now that I didn’t.

I can’t imagine how she’d have got on with puppy Stan, who came into my life just ten days after she died. I hope she’d be pleased to know that he has pulled me through the sadness of losing her ~ both physically and metaphorically.

Puppy Stan
Puppy Stan

However, I hope she also knows the extent to which her love was beyond special and will always, always be part of my very being.

Dogs have been a fundamental part of my life since I was a child and I think tonight of a research paper I co-wrote with a psychologist some years back about the whole issue of pet bereavement and the extent to which the death of a companion animal can be a highly significant event in the owner’s life, especially if the animal is the last connection to humans one has loved.

Sophie certainly fitted into that category as she was greatly loved by both my parents and always tugged to go cross the road to call into their house in the years after they had died.

I have both my parents to thank for introducing me to a love of dogs ~ yet another of those priceless gifts.

Soph
Soph

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

28 thoughts on “Thoughts of Princess Sophie Rose ~ Companion Animal”

  1. It’s the hardest part of Life with Dogs, isn’t it? knowing that you will most likely outlive so many of them. Still, I’d rather have the love and companionship; the grief isn’t forever but the love is. Sophie was a beautiful dog. Glad to see you have a new puppy; he’s a handsome boy himself!

    All the best to you in this New Year, Jean. ~ Linne

  2. A beautiful post and now that I have a 3-yr. old dog, I understand the connection more than I would have. Our four-legged companions offer unconditional love and great entertainment! So glad that you were blessed with Soph and with your new puppy Stan!

    1. GG, the world seems to be divided between dog lovers and ‘the rest.’ Glad to hear you’re in the former category.
      I’ve been blessed with all the dogs I’ve ever had and Stan is no exception to that. He just had great fun ripping a load of stuff apart in the kitchen but all I could do was smile!

    1. Hi Sheryl, Sophie was an absolute pet and I was fortunate enough to have Dalmations before her from when I was seven. Stan is certainly keeping up the high standard in terms of love and affection and, of course, mischief!

  3. I have my mother to thank for introducing me to a love of dogs, as she used to breed hounds, so there were lots of them around throughout my childhood. When my father died a few years ago, I was terribly worried that my mother would lose the last of her hounds, too, but against all odds this very ancient and faithful fellow kept going through the next couple of years to see her through the worst of her grieving.

    1. Hi Sarah, that’s great that the faithful hound kept going for your mother. I think there was quite a touch of that about Sophie with me too as she battled a few very bad illnesses against all the odds just when I needed her most after Mother and Dad died.

  4. Sophie is beautiful, Jean. I’m glad you got to share her life with her. I understand the joy that dogs bring now that we have Winston, but I also know the pain of bereavement, from the five cats who lived with us previously and other dogs that visited me in my life.

Leave a Reply

