The Dating Game

Couple-Walk-In-The-Beach-Love-Wallpapers-HD
Photo: http://www.wallpaperday.com

I’ve long been intrigued with the terminology that surrounds ‘dating.’

Here in Ireland, the main terms that I’ve known and loved include:

Stepping Out with …

Doing a line with …

Going with …

Doing a strong line with …

Courting

Courtin’ 

So, I’d love if you’d tell me what terms are used in your country/locality/experience/memory for ‘stepping out’ in the dating sense?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “The Dating Game”

  1. Very similar here in Canada, although courting is not used much any more. One related concept with a new word now is having sex when not in a committed relationship – and it is called “Hooking up”.

  2. I think others have answered for my part of the UK. Courting is old-fashioned now, but I do remember when I was young my aunts always asking if I was ‘courting’. My mother was probably horrified, because I wasn’t actually allowed to see anyone, certainly until I was 16 (not that it stopped me however!)

      1. Don’t know what you mean Jean 🙂 Let’s just say my life as a teenager was a little more interesting than my mother realised. The serious side of it, unfortunately, is that we didn’t have a wonderful relationship, which meant that I kept a lot of secrets because I knew she’d disapprove – something that never really changed.

        1. Andrea, that’s a pity about the fact that you and your mother weren’t as close as you could have been.

          I suspect most of us had ‘more interesting’ lives as teenagers than our parents realised (or than we thought they realised). I often wonder NOW about the latter aspect.

Leave a Reply

