Most Memorable Comments

 

I blog mainly for me but in the hope that what I write will resonate with someone somewhere.

I’ve been discovering lately that there are people out there who enjoy my writing but who, for whatever reason, never comment. That’s fine by me. It’s certainly not all about comments but, on the other hand, comments give one a palpable sense that one is connecting with a reader.

Yesterday, I received a comment that made my day and, arguably my year. It was from my Canadian blogging friend, Dale from A Delectable Life, who wrote in response to my mad Winter Solstice Post with its reference to year-round ย swimming in the ocean ~ย This is insanely gorgeous.ย 

That comment made me smile and realise how important it is to me that my craziness is wholeheartedly accepted.

How important are comments to you? And what ones have stood out over the years.?

Also, when you’re commenting, do you realise that your comment could make someone’s day?

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “Most Memorable Comments”

  1. I must admit, I’m a serial ‘liker’, not so fast to leave comments although, yes, every comment left on mine makes my day. You’ve just inspired me to comment more, even if it’s just a word or two.

    1. Hi Safi, I’m glad the post inspired you to comment. Must admit I misread serial-liker and thought it was serial killer which was a little alarming. It’s amazing how many thoughts can go through a brain in .005 of a second!!!

  2. I would say in my case all comments make my day. I check my wordpress notifications first before my phone messages when I wake up. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I would say they would have their time. I for one didnt comment a lot before because I am afraid no one will reply to my humble comment. Obviously I am wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚ It will they them time but they will have the courage eventually.

  3. Given the topic, and my well-honed sense of fairness – or is it guilt? ๐Ÿ™‚ – I must weigh in. Comments left on a post by a reader, no matter bow brief, are the best aspect of this whole blogging endeavor. I know the feeling!
    I will add that an entrancing image at the head of a post is the bait that draws me in for a closer look. Today’s offering being a perfect example. Thanks Jean!

  4. I think it is a happy partnership–if no one reads what we write, we might as well be keeping a journal–which of course, some of us do in addition to public writing. Commenting is like being part of the conversation. One is not always given to conversing by talking, but at times, by listening. Sometimes comments can further the conversation, and thus, add to the original thoughts from differing aspects, complimentary aspects, and sometimes, just a wildly outrageous appreciation that you went there!

    1. Suz, couldn’t agree more about the journal/blogging differentiation.
      Yes, there is the issue of commenting being like a conversation. I’d never quite seen it like that before, though. Lots of food for thought in that observation.

  5. I love comments too Jean! Sometimes however, there is no need to add anything to a post … and that’s okay too ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love how you are embracing your evolution into being a “real character” Jean ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Val, seems like you and Suz are singing off the same hymn sheet?
    As for my evolution into being a ‘real character’, now that’s full of intrigue. I certainly wasn’t conscious of it. What I was conscious of midway through the year was just writing and not caring too much if anyone read or didn’t read. Maybe this has made for a more relaxed me, though there is always the need to be aware that one is writing stuff that the world can see. So very different to journals and I think the latter are very important too.

Leave a Reply

