Mince pies and history

This is a Christmas post that resonates deeply with me through a shared love of mince pies and family tradition and connections. Heartwarming to the core.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

David Emile Joseph de Noter (1818-1892), A Maid In The Kitchen David Emile Joseph de Noter (1818-1892), A Maid In The Kitchen

I managed to resist a whole ten minutes… my guest won’t really want a whole dozen after all… eleven will do…

I may have mentioned that I have a bit of a thing for mince pies. Especially home-made ones. Especially mine.

I know, I know… but I do make good pastry…

My great grandmother was the first one to teach me to bake so my skills date back to her… and through her to her mother. Great Granny was born in 1892 … her mother in 1869… and their Victorian, and more importantly, Yorkshire culinary skills were passed to me.

Great granny taught her own child and granddaughter to bake and they taught me too. So generations of knowledge came down to ‘keep your hands cold and handle it as little as possible’ as far as pastry was concerned…

View original post 288 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “Mince pies and history”

Leave a Reply

