The Wishing Stone Ritual

Stones at Newtown Cove, Tramore, Co. Waterford
Stones at Newtown Cove, Tramore, Co. Waterford

It’s quite a few years ago now that our  New Year’s Eve Wishing Stone Ritual  was born. My son and I make our way to Newtown Cove, just outside Tramore, here in Co. Waterford in Ireland.

We each select the most perfect stones we can find and cast them into the sea. Newtown Cove is a magical place ~ high cliffs on either side and the hauntingly beautiful Newtown Wood just behind.

Newtown Cove, Tramore
Newtown Cove, Tramore

Such a simple ceremony, but one in which memories of the year just gone and hopes for the next are added to the whispering, or sometimes, roaring, waves.

If you would like me to cast a  Wishing Stone for you, wherever you are in the world, just let me know, either in the comments here or by email: jeantubridy@aol.com. You’ll know what that stone carries and the sea will certainly understand.

If this post feels familiar, it is one that I wrote too close to New Year’s Eve in the last few years so I wanted to give a little more notice this time round!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

43 thoughts on “The Wishing Stone Ritual”

  1. Jean I would love it if you would send a wishing stone for myself and my family. What a wonderful tradition, I feel a story making its way into my psyche … much appreciated… hugs today…X0

    do you need me to send a PM to you regarding the wishing stone casting? Jean

  2. Reblogged this on babyboomer28 and commented:
    thank you Jean… what a wonderful tradition !! Our traditions define us as people, as community or as a country. They can be momentous, and powerful and they keep us connected……hugs Jean XO

  3. Such a loverly traditions and thought…Please throw one in for me for a renewed relationship with our estranged Son….Thank You ….

  4. I think I’m going to ‘borrow’ your tradition. What a great idea! Not sure I’ll get to the ocean, here in cold New England, but there’s a river nearby. That should do the trick! Thanks for sharing (and letting me borrow…). 🙂

  5. A great tradition and a lovely thought to include others Jean. It’s something that I immediately connected with an ancient, almost pagan belief in things beyond our understanding. Love it.

    1. Ah sure, we are a pair of pagans so why be surprised!
      I must say it’s an amazing ritual and I love the idea that it’s spreading slowly. I’d hate to see it turn into some kind of ‘festival.’

  6. This is a beautiful idea, could you ask the sea and the stone to help my family fix it’s problems and lets us all be united and happy by next Christmas. Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas! ❤ ❤

  7. Hi Jean – This is such a beautiful gesture and so very generous and heartfelt. My beloved father passed away 20 years ago today…I miss him more than words could ever express, which is why this seemingly ancient – and yes, pagan – loving offering to the wild and eternal sea, has resonated with me so deeply. For my mother, too…and for my beloved Little B, who crossed over this past February…thank you so much, Jean. And a happy Yule/Solstice to you and those you love.

    1. Hi June, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss this year and it must be very hard having your father’s anniversary so close to Christmas. My own father’s father died on Christmas Eve before us kids were born and he certainly always found Christmas very tough.

      I’d be more than happy to cast the stones for you and am honoured that you asked.

      I hope you have a peaceful Christmas,

      jx

      1. Thank you so very much, Jean. That would mean a lot to me. I know my father will always be with me…in my heart…in my memories of him, but my heart still hurts. Especially at this time of year. It’s been a very tough year to get through.Thank you so much, once again, Jean.

        1. June, totally understand about the way a father can remain very much with one ~ mine is never far away!

          I’ll be thinking very much of you on New Year’s Eve and will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

