Do You Believe in Soulmates?

Sun
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford.

The concept of ‘soulmates’ is one that has intrigued me for years and it came to me yet again this evening as I watched the setting sun.

Are you a person who believes in ‘soulmates’ or is fortunate enough to have found one or maybe more?

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

21 thoughts on “Do You Believe in Soulmates?”

  1. Yep Jean!
    There are a handful of people in my life that I know of. There is instant recognition … often without words. Perhaps not “mates” in the sense of female and male… but such a strong connection that comes with knowing each other and traveling far together.
    My second hubby is one 🙂
    Val x

  2. Absolutely! I agree with Willow and Anarette. I have found some in this crazy Blogosphere. I have tried to explain this connection to some friends and family and they look at me like I’ve lost my marbles. I would not have put the stamp “soulmates” before now… Yes, that is a perfect term.

    Mick, my husband – definitely my soulmate. He drives me crazy but he is so in synch with me that I am presently broken-hearted that I may lose him. He had a massive cardiac arrest last Thursday and is hanging by a thread.

    1. Oh Dale, I’m so sorry to hear about Mick’s health problems. I hope he’s doing better and that you are bearing up. Love is a great healer and he certainly has that. Remember that your WP Soulmates are with you both. Hugs, jean xxx

  3. Awesome question Jean. I’ve loved many times in life (and been loved) and every time was different. That being said after a great deal of pondering on your very question, i have come to recognize that there are parts of myself that are not internally consistent. That is to say that it seems that there are “connectors” built into my thought processes, logic systems, world view and understanding , that take my ability to understand or see the biggest picture outside of just myself.

    With that in mind, it seems that there is a sort “docking port” for another human on each of many levels – for example friend, colleague, lover, long term relationship, etc. Soul mate seems to be someone who can fulfill many or all of these. It also seems that as long as there is a human connected in one or many of these ports they are often protected from another taking the place. So, there may be many “soul mates” out there, but each one is exclusive of the others and is not perceived as such unless the appropriate relationships are not filled.

    In any strong connection – i.e. soul mate – the relationship is much like a binary star system where each sun circles the other. In a perfect such system, this mutual orbiting appears from the outside as if the two suns were following each other around a circular pathway. The relative size and density of each sun has to be approximately the same as the other in order for the orbits to stay stable. As a result of this the center of gravity is in the center of the cicle – actually outside both suns. In human terms, this means that a realtionship with a soul mate allows us to “create” or “recognize” a third entity made only of the two individuals and yet separate and unique. Each partner can slide to this center and view the world from the combination of the two as an external perspective.

    This is a pet topic of mine and as such i am guilty of verbal diarrhea. Sorry. 😀

    Yes, i believe in soul mates, and would say that although they are rare, there is more than one per person, of which only one at a time can be recognized and/or perceived.

      1. Yes, the center point would be gravity free, one could float there as the gravity of each circling sun would cancel out the gravity of the other. Move one way or the other and the closer sun would exert a pull back into a singular perspective.

  4. I do believe in soul mates… I do, I do, I do. Seriously though, it is a joy to spend time with people who really are in tune. It’s reaffirming and energising and so lovely to be able to share and know that there is a deep mutual understanding.

  5. I believe in ‘soulmates’ – and I have found my soulmate (back in 2002) and we are married since 2003.

    Beautiful image, Jean.

Leave a Reply

