It’s Not the Same Way Everyone Goes Mad!

I had serious reason to celebrate today as I got the all-clear on a routine mammogram. These are things I’ve learned never, ever to take for granted.

Instinct screamed: Let’s go for a swim, so I jumped into the car and headed out to the beach not even noticing that it was dark, dismal, freezing cold and very windy.

Let me just put it this way, the sea turned out to be far warmer than walking on the beach.

One or two people (all muffled up in hats, scarves, gloves, fur-lined boots, layers of jackets) were out walking their dogs and I could see that they had serious doubts about me.

As I found myself racing along the beach after my air borne jeans, I couldn’t but laugh and think of my late mother’s saying: It’s not the same way everyone goes mad. Must say, I could also hear her laughing with me and saying: Go on, you mad eejit!

Here’s some of the beauty that there was to behold and it was pure, pure beauty!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

37 thoughts on “It’s Not the Same Way Everyone Goes Mad!”

  1. Oh, dear. Now I have this image in my head of jean chasing her jeans. As if I didn’t have distractions enough, now I’ll get no work done at all. Mercy.

  2. How lovely to have the sea warm enough to swim in (I do understand it was not actually ‘warm’, though). I miss the sea a lot, so it’s nice to read of your walks and other adventures. Thanks for sharing that amazing rock photo, too; the colours are just amazing! One of my all-time favourites!

    1. Hi Linne, great to hear from you.
      I’ve been meaning to take that rock photo (if you mean the one that looks like tiles?) for ages and ages. It is right at the end of the beach and the tide has to be fairly well out to catch it.

  3. That is too funny Jean – chasing your jeans down the beach while everyone bundled in coats and boots looks on. Ha! The pictures are so reminiscent of ocean shoreline. Makes me home sick for the Atlantic. We have the opposite contrast here – when the air is warm, the ocean is bitterly cold from the Arctic current that flows past our shores on the East coast. In Newfoundland, I have seen full size icebergs caught in coves in July.

    Great Post – I could feel the ocean.

  4. Well, one good thing about our health system is that free mammogram system we have for us fifty plus(and fabulous!) ladies! And yes, I’m all for jean chasing celebrations!

Leave a Reply

