Opening the Door of Hope

Dark December mornings before sunrise can be full of foreboding and this morning felt rather overwhelming.

However, all changed when at very first light I saw what seemed like a fairy light blowing in the wind outside in the garden.

Colour of Dawn
Colour of Dawn

It was this season’s  first full bloom on the Camellia that I planted with my father a few weeks after getting married in September 1991.  Father was a great believer in the power of perennials and the importance of planting to ensure that there would be colour, especially in Winter.  One of his favourite sayings was this one from Ralph Waldo Emerson:

The earth laughs in flowers

Even though the Camellia has never failed to bloom, she always shocks me with her dazzling arrival and has me gazing out the kitchen window in pure amazement. Here is the much needed colour and the promise of lots more to come with a host of buds.

It makes me think of the way in which we all need colour and hope in our lives.  Has there ever been a person who hasn’t felt moments when it seemed like the darkest storm would never pass?

We never really know who is in the midst of their own personal storms nor how a friendly smile or a pause for a little chat can be the flash of colour that re-opens the door to that precious place called Hope.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Opening the Door of Hope”

  1. What a lovely sight to greet you on a dark morning showing you that there is always a bright spot in our lives no matter how insignificant it may be..that’s what gives us hope and faith…another sign from your Dad to lift your spirits with a memory of the past …

  2. I have a small ceramic plaque that hangs from knob on a drawer face mounted over my bed–with that saying on it–I had no idea the source! Right next to it is a ceramic Christmas ball that says “Joy.” At the opposite end two more say “Hope” and “Peace.” They make me smile year-round.

Leave a Reply

