Are You a Facebook Friend or Foe?

Lost yesterday, somewhere between sunrise and sunset, two golden hours, each set with sixty diamond minutes. No reward is offered for they are gone forever. ( Horace Mann)

I took the plunge the other day and deactivated my Facebook page. It had been coming for a while for a whole host of reasons. The last straw was finding that I had spent a couple of precious hours reading what seemed like a crowds of people shouting at each other across the road about stuff that I perceived as being more appropriate for the private domain.

And the last, last straw was the sense of ‘big brother’ watching over every single move I made. I simply don’t like the idea of Facebook, or anyone else for that matter,  tracking my every conversation and then pushing stuff right up against my face.

So, the moment of decativation came and the last I saw was a list of the people who would miss me. Interesting that top of the list was the last person who had messaged me ‘privately.’

f

I’ve had no withdrawals since leaving ~ except for seeing some of the great art and photographs that are posted. I’ve found other ways to access these so that ‘need’ is sorted!

I’d love to know how YOU feel about Facebook? Is it a key part of your life, peripheral or just a ‘no-no.’

Must say I feel totally different about blogging, and indeed Twitter.

All in all, I’m pretty surprised by this whole turn of events, however mundane they may be.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

33 thoughts on “Are You a Facebook Friend or Foe?”

  1. Hi Jean. I have a facebook account with the absolute minimum information needed and don’t use it except to access stories on other’s accounts that are linked to posts.

  2. Hi Jean I am not keen on Facebook. I have closed my account more than once and only visit tentatively. I agree that it is very big brother ish. I can take it or leave it xxx 😉

  3. I don’t use facebook but realize some sites it is public what you type..I only type what I want to be seen so there will be no repercussions later on. So I would say I am not a friend to facebook because so much damage has been done to people who either said something or was the recipient of something damaging…

  4. It has been an integral part of my life, and I’ve reconnected with many distant family members that I’ve never met, but I’m feeling less connected these days. I like to see what’s going on with others, but I don’t feel too motivated to engage in conversation most of the time. I usually post motivational or inspirational quotes and information, quick read my friends, and get off the site faster than normal. I check it less often too. It uses up so much time, and I am trying to write more and fritter less.

          1. I share a lot of your photos on my “I love water” page. If you join up, take a look at it. I’ll definitely follow you (cyber stalker) if yo join pinterest. You have such peaceful, lovely photos. And, here’a tip, once you join and create a board for Social Bridge pics, you can add a pinterest share button to your website, and after creating a blog post, just share the photo straight from your blog to your pinterest board, and it automatically links back to the blog. Makes it easy to share with a whole new crowd.

  5. I joined facebook at my daughter’s request. It seemed a good way to share photos and keep down the phone bill! But I agree that things do get rather too personal sometimes over there, although I’m lucky enough to belong to a closed writing group, so that is where I mostly hang-out, although usually only once a week. It is certainly not a key part of my life, unlike my blogging. I’m not really into Twitter in a big way, but then I want time to do my writing.

    1. Hi Derv, I de-activated the page. Can re-activate if I want but I’m not sure when that will or won’t be.
      (It re-activated for a short while because multiple devices but I think I have it off now for sure.) It’s completely out of MY mind anyway!

  6. FB is good for keeping up with distant friends/family, so I keep my (bare minimum) personal account for that. It’s been fun having the KWH fb page, though… Gonna miss you there, Jean! Pinterest is fun, as you know I’ve pinned you lots 🙂 Figuring out Twitter would be next, but haven’t decided if I can handle another virtual place to eat away my real-life time. As for privacy, FB and google both seem bent on predicting our next step!. :-/ ♥ ❤

    1. Jackie, it’s interesting that you draw a distinction between your personal page and your KWH page. I’m still on FB for hubby’s Carpet Business and that’s been fun from the start but an entirely different kettle of fish.

      1. Hmmm… so did you need to pay fb extra to have the carpet business page? Or, did he not have a previous fb account and began his fb “career” with the carpet business?

        I’ve been somewhat confused with fb, since it did not allow me to start the blog’s KWH page without first having a personal page?!? Now, people from around the world will sometimes see my KWH page and send a friend request… That’s when it would be really nice for the two to be separate, since I wouldn’t want to subject my personal family/friends to the world at large…

        Sometimes I think there ought to be a “fb for dummies 101” course 😛 ♥ ❤

        1. He set up a personal page, as FB required, and then moved on set up the Carpet Shop page.

          No extra payment for the Business Page. However, the posts of Business Pages are only ‘served’ to a limited number of people so there is quite a push on to pay for advertising to ensure that they get pushed out. The other trick is to make sure that all friends ask to get notifications when they click the Like Page Button and then go on to Like and Share particular posts. That’s asking a lot of people really.

          1. Hmmm… this sounds like what fb calls “boost page” on my blog’s fb page… money, money, money + other people’s effort = profit for fb = general public’s love/hate relationship for fb :-/ ♥ ❤

  7. You’re not the first of my contacts to do this recently Jean. I do like to keep in some sort of touch with my Irish friends in particular. Also there are some intriguing and interesting pages which I follow. I therefore filter out all the ‘noise’ and stick with it.
    Twitter I don’t really like, especially when you ‘follow’ a promising Tweeter only to be showered by an endless stream of retweets which are clearly commercial. But again the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.

    1. Roy, that’s interesting that I’m not too alone. I was looking at the November Stats on this and it seems that 78% of Irish people are on FB and the vast majority are daily users. I was amazed by the figures. Twitter is down in the 27% range. I need to probe these a bit more to see what the sample was but it’s a very reputable company doing the research.

Leave a Reply

