Blogging for Peace

The Metal Man, Tramore, Co. Waterford
The Metal Man, Tramore, Co. Waterford

Listening to the radio and watching the television news today has been almost unbearable because of the extent of the violence and sadness which seems to be unfolding all round the world.

It’s at times like this that I find peace in blogging and have a wild hope that maybe, just maybe, my writing might connect with someone somewhere and bring a moment of peace to them or, better still, light a little flame of creativity.

Tonight I can think of no poem more soothing than this oft quoted one from W.B. Yeats.

THE LAKE ISLE OF INNISFREE

By William Butler Yeats

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made;
Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honeybee,
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a-glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

Sleep tight, dear friends across the world and stay safe. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Blogging for Peace”

  1. Beautiful poem Jean. I’ve never seen it before. Thank You. And i have the greatest respect for those who write for peace.

  2. Lovely indeed. Yes, sometimes it is best to simply shut off the news and walk away to do something we love and makes us happy. Thank you for sharing yet another wonderful poem!

    1. Hi Dale, it seems to be complete overload at the moment ~ both nationally and internationally. I know there is plenty of good news too but that doesn’t get a lot of airing, most of the time, anyway.
      Glad you liked the poem. I always find it brings calm.

  3. My favorite is the song “Let There Be Peace On Earth And Let It Begin With Me”…the words are also meaningful and beautiful.. too bad we all can’t learn and benefit from it….

Leave a Reply

