Happy Birthday, Dear Friend

Stan
Stan

Dear Stan,

It’s hard to believe that you are a year old ~ a whole twelve months of dogginess.

It’s even harder to believe the way you managed to bring pure joy and sunshine to my shattered heart after Sophie died in January. I had absolutely dreaded that terrible day and it was beyond terrible but your arrival here just ten days later on January 21st brought new hope and the promise of a new friend.

You understood from the very beginning  that no dog would ever ‘replace’ Sophie, with her thirteen and a half years of Cavalier King Charles empathy, solidarity and amazing female intuition. She was there for some of the toughest times and never, ever failed to care.

I’m sorry I doubted you so much  but I didn’t think such a tiny black bundle of fur could possibly lick my wounded heart and lift the darkest of dark storm clouds.

But you have and you’ve done it with panache. How could you have known to look at me through the banisters those first few weeks, just like Sophie used to? How did you know how much I needed you to snuggle up and let me gaze at your piercing brown eyes?

So many doubts that January evening when we first met ~ but you clung on and implored, bringing me back to the first meeting with all the precious dogs of my life, Beauty, Tiffin and Soph.

Your mother was one of the most beautiful dogs I’ve ever seen, a golden Cocker Spaniel and your father a very friendly, handsome brown and white Springer. Sometimes I see their colours gleaming in your shiny coat but most of all I love your long  spaniel ears that blow in the wind as you race along the beach.

When I say that you’re ‘pure joy,’ I must mean it. No one else would get away with eating my poetry books, camera batteries, emptying the bin all over the kitchen floor, waking me at all hours when the moon is bright, demolishing my furry boots…..

Thanks again for all your fun, friskiness, knowing looks, uplifting springing and most of all your forever welcomes.

Here’s to lots and lots of years of health and happiness,

Love you more than you could ever know,

jxxxx

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

14 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dear Friend”

  1. Happy Birthday to Stan…He reminds me of my sons’ family dog who was named Buster. He gave us much happiness when he was alive. Hopefully many happy times are ahead for Stan and you…

Leave a Reply

