Let Nature Do the Blogging

Yesterday was one of those ‘pet days’ and instinct brought me out to the Coastal Path in Dunmore East, which is about eight miles from Tramore, here in Co. Waterford.

As usual I had a notebook in my pocket, just in case some great thought flashed into my mind.

I had walked along the cliffs to Portally Cove with my swimming gear in hand, just in case all was well for the last swim of November.

Dunmore East Coastal Path, Co. Waterford
Dunmore East Coastal Path, Co. Waterford

Portally was bathed in sunlight and the water was divine.

Portally Cove, Co. Waterford.
Portally Cove, Co. Waterford.

I was sitting on a rock drying off and soaking up the sun when the thought of playing with shadows took my fancy. What bliss to lean into nature and let her do the writing:

Mother of the Quill
Mother of the Quill

And what about the stone walls of Ireland that bring one especially to places like Connemara, Co. Galway, Co. Clare  and even parts of Co. Waterford.

Stone Wall
Stone Wall

Sea creatures emerged from the sea on the page, just as a seal came about as near to the shore as you could imagine.

Sea Creatures
Sea Creatures

J stands for lots of things in my mind ~ but yesterday it stood for pure ‘joy’ and thoughts of Summery days of June and July.

J

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Let Nature Do the Blogging”

  1. Lovely visuals, very creative. Sometimes all I want is to see your wonderful photos. It’s one of the reasons I also like Pinterest, to put the words out of my mind and just see with my heart.

  2. I love the quill pen and the notebook to jot down your thoughts…the water looks so inviting and tranquil . What surprises will December bring…Over in MA, USA …it was so mild the temps up in the 60s …cold weather is suppose to return tomorrow…

    1. Hi Joni, I hasten to add that I don’t carry a quill ~ I just found the feather on the beach. I have a load of pens and pencils that come on those sorts of outings.
      I hope we don’t get too many surprises ~ unless, of course, they’re absolute treats. Splendid again here today!

  3. How lovely! You are a girl after my own heart.☺️ Your post makes me feel like ditching work today and heading straight to a beach! That won’t happen, of course, but at least I feel that I’ve started my day with a warm glow from your creativity.

    1. Thanks Roy. I never thought I’d see your using the word ‘cool’ like this but anyway …..
      Yeah, Dunmore East is a real gem. Was back out there today, actually. A little detour on the way home with son from Waterford. As he said, there’s always lovely light in Dunmore at this time of year in the afternoons, and there was.

Leave a Reply

