From Winterval to Wonderland

The Green Car
The Green Car

I’m a sucker for old toys and more or less ran into the Toy Musuem the first morning it opened as part of this year’s Winterval Festival in Waterford.

In among the dolls, teddy bears, board games … was a rusty green car that drove me right back to the big hall in my grandmother’s house in Co. Meath and the car that had lived there since my mother was a child.

Visiting Granny’s was a huge adventure as she had a farm and lived just across the fields from our three first cousins who were almost identical ages to us.

Even though the cousins had daily access to the car, it was the vehicle that brought us together on  wintery days as we pushed each other up and down the hall and plotted and planned our adventures like the kids in the Enid Blyton stories to which I was addicted.

I think I’m going to have to go back to the Toy Museum and find out about the generations of kids who played with that well-used, shiny and proud looking green car that looked like it was waiting for someone …..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “From Winterval to Wonderland”

  1. Memories- great aren’t they? You know there is quite a market for old pedal cars now – they are collectible and some go for high prices. I guess others enjoy the memories too.

    Great post Jean. Thank you.

  2. This indeed brought back memories, not of my pedal car, but of how much I wanted one! We had tricycles and bicycles and wagons, but I so wanted a pedal car. Somehow, the idea of being in a little car, tootling down the drive seemed like such a wonderful thing to be able to do. I would pore over the Sears, Roebuck catalog and fantasize about that little car! How fortunate you not only got to enjoy it with your cousins, but to have a lovely hall for those days it was not possible to be outside!

  3. I have alot of our kids toys some are atleast 40 years old..I have well used barbie dolls, tonka trucks, radio flyer wagon with the wooden sides, hot wheels, a Darth Vader wrist watch. These are things that they never took with them into their adult life, I am the archiver of this family..a saver of “stuff” all have memories.

Leave a Reply

