White Houses in November

I saw the White House in Washington DC for the first time on a bright sunny day in November 2010. I only learned later that it was designed by an Irishman, James Hoban, from near Callan in Co. Kilkenny.

The White House, Washington, DC.
The White House, Washington, DC.

The elegant building left a lasting impression on my mind and I’m very glad that I actually saw it with my own eyes.

This November, I discovered a White House here in Co. Waterford that has also captured my imagination with its sheer charm and attention to detail.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “White Houses in November”

  1. We went to visit the White House years ago and was surprissed that it doesn’t look as big as it appears on TV..we never did take the tour . Washington DC is very pretty at Cherry Blossom time. We did visit the National Zoo and had a lovely time …my favorite was the Pandas (on loan from Chiana). We didn’t get to see the Smithsonian. There are so many places in the USA that are worth seeing as I’m sure that Ireland has much of the same too…

Leave a Reply

