Irish Pride

There are times when I feel intensely proud of Ireland and I had one of those penetrating feelings this morning as I was driving home from Waterford City to Tramore ~ just 8 miles.

This was about my Ireland; not the stereotypical Irish Mammy, Guinness, or even Book of Kells in Trinity College image of the country.

It was the beauty of the back road from Waterford to Tramore ~ all lit up in November sunshine ~ that did it.  I just stopped the car on the Ballinamona Road to soak up the colour, history and pure essence of the place that is so familiar, yet always enchanting to me.

Here’s how it was looking:

Ballinamona Road from Waterford City to Tramore
Ballinamona Road from Waterford City to Tramore

The stone wall glistened with a mingling of the man-made and nature:

Wat5

And a blue, blue sky smiled through the almost bare November trees.

Ballinamona Road from Waterford City to Tramore.
Ballinamona Road from Waterford City to Tramore.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “Irish Pride”

  1. Awesome pictures Jean. A country to proud of. The picture of the steel washer and bolt (no doubt holding a wall) surrounded by the little green shoots is very cool. It is such a pleasure to see your country through your eyes and photos. Beautiful.

    As an aside Jean, I recently did a guest post over at Cpordelia’s Mom. I’d be honored if you had the time to drop by for a visit. http://cordeliasmomstill.com/2014/11/22/the-teens-guest-post-by-paul-curran/comment-page-1/#comment-6455n Thank You.

  2. Yes, lovely pictures Jean. I’m always in awe of Ireland’s natural beauty. And it’s often to be found in the less heralded parts of the country. You are a great ambassador for County Waterford.

Leave a Reply

