Magic Carpets

I never in my wildest dreams thought that I’d ever get involved in hubby’s carpet business as carpets seemed a million miles away from Sociology and Social Research.

However, I jumped in at the deep end back in January with a mumbled offer to do some online marketing for him.

It’s proving to be one of those unexpectedly enjoyable activities ~ often the best kind ~ and now I’ve reached a point where I’m seeing the world through both the eyes of bridges and tufts of wool.

I love the colours, patterns and textures of carpets as well as their deep connection to nature through woolly sheep.

Mercifully, hubby is happy to let me run loose and be as quirky and creative as I want to be in this endeavour. It’s pure fun and I adore heading off with a car load of samples, rugs, rolls of carpet and just seeing what will catch my eye.

I’m sure regular readers of my normal blog won’t be too surprised with the results!

I’d love to hear what carpets mean to you and if there have been really special ones in your life?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Magic Carpets”

  1. OH! Lovely, mind you I am slightly unhinged by the fear that the blackberry’s on the leaf in the first photo might stain the carpet! … We have wooden floors on the ground floor and a black slate tiles in the kitchen, but on the stairs and landing and bedrooms we have a grey beige Berber http://images.lowes.com/product/converted/715655/715655719817lg.jpg lovely and hard wearing.
    Why did I ask for wooden floors downstairs….. the boys told me our carpet looked like a hotel carpet, then we saw a program set in an old peoples home and my red floral carpet was centre stage… hence wooden floors!! hugs !! xxx

  2. That’s an impressive set of photos Jean. I especially like the little owl picture and the one that looks like periwinkles on a leaf raft on the lines of colors. Ha! You must have carted those carpetsamples all over the place to get the pics. Very cool photography.

  3. I loved seeing all those carpet samples from your viewpoint as you add your own creativeness to each one…you have walked the mile in someone elses’ shoes literally. We never know whether or not we will like something until we’ve tried it…Never be afraid to test the waters…

  4. I love the sizes we used to call “throw rugs” because I can move them from house to house and still have familiar patterns and colors. I lucked into a couple at a thrift store not too long ago, so they’re my current favorites. Oh wait, there is also one made of recycled materials that I bought for my porch. So yes, I love carpets!

Leave a Reply

