Things for which I am grateful #325-352: Photography.

This post by David Milligan-Croft is pure delight, especially if you have even the slightest interest in photography.

Thereisnocavalry

My goodness, where to begin?

There are so many brilliant photographers that I could probably fill all 365 things to be grateful for with them alone.

I’ve had the privilege of working with some outstanding photographers during my 30 long years in the ad industry. Most of whom were artists in their own right. I’m not going to feature them here just in case I forget someone and invoke their ire.

Instead, I’m going to show some of the photographers whose work has inspired me over the years. Certainly not an exhaustive list. Hope you like them. Feel free to make your own suggestion.

We could argue the toss as to what makes a great photograph – composition, light, concept. But what I feel a great photo should do is tell a story or ask questions of the viewer.

Ansel Adams Ansel Adams

Eve Arnold Eve Arnold

Richard Avedon Richard Avedon

Diane Arbus Diane Arbus

Cecile Beaton Cecil Beaton

Brassai Brassai

View original post 69 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Things for which I am grateful #325-352: Photography.”

  1. I used to have the Robert Doisneau picture in my bedroom… Love so many photographers on the list… will have to check out the 3-4 I am unfamiliar with!

  2. Have you seen the recent film “Finding Vivian Maier”? – about a woman who worked as a nanny and was a street photographer who didn’t show her work in her lifetime (but her negatives were discovered after her death) –http://vivianmaier.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

