Dreams

Dreams

Dreams

Dreams
Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.
Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

(Langston Hughes)

This poem speaks more directly to me than any other about the importance of identifying, pursuing and never letting go of dreams.

My dream for many, many years now has been to make a difference to the lives of the most vulnerable people in our society, especially those who have serious health issues or are nearing the end of life.

This is a dream I have been able to fulfill to a considerable extent at different periods and in different ways over the years. But there is still a lot more to do and the dream lives on just as strongly as ever.

How do you feel about YOUR dreams and would you be happy to share what it is you really want to achieve in this life?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

14 thoughts on “Dreams”

  1. Beautiful post…
    I have so many dreams… Some of them will remain as dreams and that is fine with me. But I do know that some of my dreams can come true.

    Thank you for sharing this post.

  2. I suppose it’s human nature to reach upwards, to have targets, dreams. It’s the way the human race survives and clambers upwards. It’s possibly the cause of warfare, people dreaming for something other people have (e.g. territory) or because they fear a perceived threat to advancement (e.g. an adjoining race or nation).

    Personally, as I get older, any dreams are small and personal, like running a bit quicker, making my next book a bit better. Anything more would lead only to disappointment.

    1. Hi Roy, I tend to see dreams more as hopes on looking onwards rather than upwards but I take your point about the positives and negatives associated with them.
      And I agree that disappointment can be very much tied up with reaching for the stars!

Leave a Reply

