Do You Schedule Posts?

I’m curious to know how other personal bloggers feel about scheduling posts.

I have only ever scheduled a handful and they were ones associated with my Autumn festivals when I wanted to give contributors advance notice about when their posts would be appearing.

In terms of my own posts, I feel, rightly or wrongly, that there is something more connective and almost ‘honest’ about posting in ‘real’ time.

I have a sense that everything could have changed utterly between the time of writing and scheduling for say a day or two hence.

What’s are your views and practices in this regard?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Do You Schedule Posts?”

  1. I like to write and post real time too. On the other hand, when I know I am going to be travelling and out of range of wifi, I do schedule posts.
    Things like book promotions, events and workshops I’ll schedule too. But the personal stuff I do like to write and hit publish!

  2. What a helpful topic Jean! I used to schedule posts … and then I realized I was feeling less connected with them. I think you are right, there’s an energy when we share our thoughts “live”!
    It also depends on what we are posting about. Most of my posts don’t have “sell by” dates … they aren’t connected to what I happen to be doing on a given day, and so can be pending for some time … until the energy feels just right.
    Val x

  3. Jean, these days I schedule little unless it involves a meeting with someone who attended some kind of medical college. Even the oil changes for our motorized vehicles take on a kind of whimsical spirit. As a student, it was difficult to have creative juices flow according to any assigned deadline, and it has gotten worse now that the grading process is immaterial. But I wish the organized well, as long as they not attempt to drag me kicking and screaming on board their agenda. Rock on chilluns, rock on!

  4. No scheduling for me… I tried to follow the “suggested times for optimum readership” and frankly, it’s too restrictive! Besides, that would require organisation… something I am quite lax at! Not that I can’t be… I just choose to go with the flow when inspiration hits, ya know?

    1. Dale, that business about optimum times for posting drives me cracked. I think personal blogging needs spontaneity to enhance connection between reader and writer. I love the way you sometimes contextualize your posts time-wise, e.g. late at night.

  5. I schedule posts when I’m away, because I’m not going to write posts on a road ramble. I often draft posts ahead of time, because when something catches my attention or comes to mind, I like to get it down somewhere before I lose it. There is nothing worse than losing an idea because I forgot to write it down. I always think I will remember, but I rarely do. And it sucks! Other times, I’m sitting here of a morning, looking at a blank post without a clue as to what I’m going to say. I have never, ever been able to figure out what the optimum time for posting is. I’ve experimented a lot with that. Usually, I end up with a different set of readers. lol Too, I have to be a bit organized about the post writing or it doesn’t get done.

  6. Well, just between you and me and the http://www... I once scheduled a post that kept me up much later than I wanted to admit—so I set it to go “live” a few hours later at a more reasonably acceptable hour… lol … Actually, that may or may not have happened twice 😉 ♥ ❤

    1. Jackie, interesting point you make here! The fact that blogging is so global essentially means that readers somewhere are probably reaching a post written in the dead of night at just the right time. I wonder do many people wonder about our late night postings? I think it comes with the territory. In fact, I love writing in the dead of night and can’t resist posting then while in such calmness.

Leave a Reply

