Ruling the Page

Lines

The sky was blue as blue yesterday morning and the telegraph wires glinted merrily like inviting lines on a page.

So much to be said about lines ~ writing them; reading them; reading between them …..

The words that has been begging me to be placed between the lines are these:

โ€œIn the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
(Albert Camus)
ย 

What word, lines, thoughts do the lines in the photograph evoke in YOU?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “Ruling the Page”

  1. “Walk a straight and narrow line”..do we dare to venture off of it..what worlds will open before us…if we
    choose to stray….

    1. Thinking about the tight rope walker Walensa sp.? he has trust in God, and himself to be able to muster the courage to walk from one high point to another without any life supports. Then to do the same feat again blind folded..Is it courage or faith that gives him the strength to move along this line that will determine if he is sure-footed to complete without falling. Sometimes in life we face different obstacles with the uncertainty whether or not we will succeed or fail..I believe it is hope and faith that sees us through ….

      1. Joni, tightropes crossed my mind too but they terrify me. Your point about hope and faith certainly contributes greatly to even understanding tightrope walker’s courage. Balance in pretty vital too, in all facets of life.

  2. Good morning Jean,

    This morning, one day post the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, I have crossing borders on my mind.

    I’ve come to some borders of my own recently and am at an impasse. These new borders require immediate attention. In the past, I’ve gone around them, over them, ignored them once or twice, but the time has come to work through them.

    This too shall pass, but at the moment I am searching for the way over the borders.

    As always, your words resonate with me.

    Thanks for putting a voice to them.

    Btw – since we last exchanged emails, re: my friend Rod Figaro, I have been posting to the careerHMO and Careerealism websites.

    So now you can find some of my Career Coaching posts on both sites!

    CareerHMO.com Careerealism.com

    Thanks, AnneMarie Cooley

    Sent from my iPhone

    1. Hi Anne Marie, borders are key to so much. I hope you navigate this currently impasse successfully. I’ll definitely check out your links. It was great to have Rod here recently with The Festival of Bridges. Keep in touch ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. Parallel lines extend infinitely in both directions without intersection. I am reminded of a quote from a recent Hallmark movie, “Eternity is where true love lies.”

Leave a Reply

