The Cave of Light and The Cave of Birds – A film of the pure essence of open water swimming – by Sam Krohn

This has to be my Post of the Year. Thanks to LoneSwimmer and Sam Krohn for bringing me to familiar places near my beloved Tramore but with such a creative and adventurous spirit. Thrilling!

LoneSwimmer

Sam Krohn is an Australian open water swimmer, resident in the south-east of Ireland since his family moved here when he was young, (though he retains a 100% Aussie accent as far as I can tell). He’s a regular swimmer at my own usual location of Tramore’s Newtown and Guillamenes coves. He’s also a regular reader of and the most regular commenter to this blog. Sam and I kept missing opportunities to go for swim together in 2013, but at the end of this (2014) summer, he and I were due to meet for a swim out to the caves so that Sam could do a bit of filming.

September in Ireland in 2014 was extraordinarily good, the best I’ve experienced since I started swimming. We’d set a day for the swim out, not too concerned about weather, used as we both are to the local conditions.

But the day was gorgeous and warm with a…

View original post 416 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “The Cave of Light and The Cave of Birds – A film of the pure essence of open water swimming – by Sam Krohn”

  1. Thank you Jean, delighted you enjoyed it. People’s online attention span is short, so many of my usual readers didn’t actually look at the film. I’m already looking forward to seeing what Sam does next year.

Leave a Reply

