Confession of a Blogger

sorry-650x650

I have a terrible confession to make about my overall blogging performance.

I discovered to my absolute horror this evening that I have a whole wadge of Pending Comments that stretch back to the days in 2011 when I entered the blogging fray. It’s like finding a heap of unopened envelopes buried under a pile of ironing and I am cringing at very thought of them lying there for yonks.

On top of that, I still feel very uneasy about the way in which I deal, or should I say don’t deal, with New Followers. I know I should be much more appreciative than I am and head over and, at least thank them for Following me, but I seem to have a blockage about that too.

May I have absolution for these sins and I promise I’ll try and do better?

Please tell me that I’m not the only one with blogging sins on my conscience. What, if any, are yours? Β If you don’t have any, I can produce about a dozen more from here!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

36 thoughts on “Confession of a Blogger”

  1. Thankfully I only have a handful of unanswered comments but I haven’t been blogging as long as you have, however I too feel awful at times about ignoring new followers. It is just so hard to keep up with fellow bloggers, facebook friends and blogging, not to mention actually looking after a family and working! So in a nutshell you are not alone!

  2. Absolution. Yikes! I haven’t heard that word since the last time I was in a confessional booth. And that wasn’t in recent history. If it’s a sin (and we know it isn’t πŸ™‚ ), my mea culpa is with not being able to read and reply to what accumulates every day in my WP Reader — especially posts from those who publish between midnight and 5am, local time. They are increasingly apt to be buried among the clothes requiring ironing… which is a whole story in and of itself.

    1. Hi Eric, it’s a great word, isn’t it? If only it were so simple to wash it all away. Glad you have the ironing issue too ~ a problem shared and all that.
      Oh, as I’ve said above keeping up with reading blogs followed is pretty much impossible. I suppose the one way round it would be to follow a dozen or so but that’s not really in the spirit of blogland either.

  3. Sins reside in the past.
    No absolution required.
    Embrace the vulnerability right now.
    I really appreciate your authenticity Jean.
    Breathe deeply
    And let it all go!
    Val x
    p.s. I found the comments menu about 6 months in…. πŸ˜‰
    p.p.s. Do what you feel is right without getting into a tangle πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for your soothing words, Val. No, I don’t get into tangles over these kinds of things especially when I can come clean about them. However, I do think that manners matter!

  4. …I mean about the comments. I have to say though I do feel bad about not reading more of other peoples blogs….I never seem to have the time. There are one or two I always read but there are so many others its hard to know where to begin there are so many out there. We can only do what we can do I guess.

    1. Hi Clare, ah no not a pile of embarrassingly unanswered comments going back to early 2011!
      Seems like the reading of blogs gives people a sense of guilt. I don’t have that so much but not even to thank a new follower ~ what does that say???? I think it all goes back to writing thank-you letters when I was small and having to get the writing straight enough that the recipients wouldn’t have to be leaning very sideways ..;..
      I can just see a cartoon coming!

      BTW, did you see LonesSwimmers brilliant post with the film of Westown area from the water. I reblogged it so I could keep going out there and dreaming!

      1. Well I guess I just liked the idea of getting loads of comments,mine are few and far between so I think you are doing a lot better than me in the best blogging friend stakes!

        Your comments are always appreciated, you are my best commenter and you always reply to me anyway so you’re not doing so bad…now I have a picture of you leaning sideways with your tongue stuck between your teeth and doing your very best joined up writing!

        Yes saw the swimming, lovely.

  5. It’s OK. It has to be. You are doing your best, as most of us in the blogverse. I will make exception for those deliberately trolling for subscriptions to their pyramid schemes (said with the most sincere “nose in the air”).

  6. Jean, you can only do what you can do – blogging should be enjoyable, not another source of guilt πŸ™‚ Having said that…although I think all my comments are answered, I’m guilty of not always acknowledging new followers and not always reading all the blog posts I feel I should. I’m going to have a little blogging holiday soon to give myself a talking to πŸ™‚

  7. Andrea, I think if you found a multiplicity of unanswered comments you’d get a little twinge of guilt or something akin to that! I agree totally about blogging for enjoyment BUT that shouldn’t mean totally ignoring people who were good enough to take the time to write ~ whatever about clicking Follow.
    Should be an interesting ‘talk to yourself’ ~ I hope you video it so that we can hear content and see all body language! LOL

  8. I think that’s hilarious πŸ™‚ And there’s me feeling guilty for not responding to people’s comments after 24 hours! Shall I wind you up further, here, Jean, by asking you when you last checked the spam queue on your blog? If you never have, you may just want to dump everything in it, as there will be too much to wade through. On the other hand, there may be a few okay comments that have got marked as spam by mistake. Sinner you πŸ˜‰

    I suffer equal guilt about not reading enough blog posts, but the problem is that the more comments there are to respond to, the less time I have left for reading.

    Let’s just agree to dump the guilt.

      1. Whew, that’s for sure… me too, not a clue! Posting content is one thing, but then comes networking! A day-off from my inbox always leaves me swimming upstream in updates from other blogs…
        But then, smiling faces like your super-busy blogful self pop by for regular visits and make it all worth the time… Thank you for always taking time for my blog, Jean! πŸ™‚ β™₯ ❀

Leave a Reply

