The Pumpkin Man

Hook Head Lighthouse, Co. Wexford
Hook Head Lighthouse, Co. Wexford

There are some sights that you just don’t expect in Ireland and a Pumpkin Man is one. But, yesterday on a visit to magnificent Hook Head Lighthouse in Co. Wexford, I met with Charles Colfer who grows pumpkins at Aldridge Farm in nearby Duncannon.

Charles Colfer
Charles Colfer

The pumpkins range from medium to giant and they were an absolute sight to behold ~ pure pumpkin!

This is Charles’ second year growing pumpkins and he now has a few acres devoted to them at Aldridge Farm. He imported the seeds from America but these are Wexford pumpkins through and through.

Blazing Pumpkins
Blazing Pumpkins

The seas were very wild and the trawlers moored at Duncannon Harbour drew my attention on the way home.  The two boats that immediately caught my eye were Wayfinder and Provider. What better words to describe the Pumpkin Man!

Duncannon Harbour, Co. Wexford.
Duncannon Harbour, Co. Wexford.

Should you wish to buy the best looking pumpkins in Ireland, get in touch with Charles Colfer on 086-8436362

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “The Pumpkin Man”

  1. Totally laughed out loud at “blazing pumpkins.” Yes, please ring him up for me, and tell him to ship a couple of beauties post haste! This was a lovely and delightful post, photos, and just made me smile after a stunningly beautiful fall day here! I am actually going to see water soon–headed to Tampa, a place I have never been before. It’s not Ireland, but I will take it for now. Got bridges coming your way!

    1. Suz, thanks for writing and so glad you enjoyed the pumpkin post. I am looking at one of those beauties as I write but I won’t be parting with it!!!

      Great to hear that you are heading for water. Enjoy it and thanks for the promise of bridges.

  2. Oh Jean… I LOVE pumpkins… Have a couple sitting on my stoop just waiting for Hallowe’en to come and go so they can be turned into much! Have you ever tried roasting the seeds? They are heavenly! If not, here’s what you do: Remove seeds from “guts” but don’t rinse. Measure seeds. For every one cup of seeds, you add one Tbsp of oil and 1/2 tsp of salt. Mix well. Spread them out on a lined cookie sheet and bake for 90 minutes at 120°C (250°F) until crisp and dry but not browned. I swear, they taste like popcorn and are addictive. (But healthy….)

  3. Love this, Jean, and what great photos, especially of Charles and his pumpkins..I miss those days of going to pumpkin patches at this time of year when the kids were little. We still get them, but since they’re older, things have changed, which is okay, too…I also love roasting the seeds and these are only a few reasons why I love the season of autumn. 🙂

    1. Hi Lauren, glad this one brought you back. I was just talking to my 19 year old about our first real experience of pumpkins. He was scared witless of fireworks when he was about four and we stayed for a night in a hotel a few miles away out in the middle of the country. They had lots of carved pumpkins with candles in them. Times move on …..

Leave a Reply

