Come Join my Festival of Bridges!

Today, October 18 at 12.20 am, is my birthday and I’m in celebratory mood.  It’s hard to believe that I’m 57 but somehow this year feels extra special because I was born in 1957.

I’ve been perusing old newspapers, photographs, memories, books, poetry, music ….. and the dominant thought has been about connections and bridges built, crossed, burned, admired, dreamed about, determined to see ……

'East View of Waterford' by Thomas Sautelle Roberts. December 19th, 1805. Source: Waterford City Council
‘East View of Waterford’
by Thomas Sautelle Roberts.
December 19th, 1805.
Source: Waterford City Council

This painting is one that I love because it includes the first bridge crossing, known locally as ‘Timbertoes,’  in Waterford City

I’m talking about all sorts of bridges ~ and I’d be so thrilled if you would join with me in celebrating BRIDGES  from now until the end of October.

To take part, please email your contribution ~ be it writing, photography, artwork, poetry, music ….. to me at jeantubridy@aol.com and give me some insight into the reason for your choice/s.

Here’s one of my favourite songs from 1957 to take you back to that era ~ it just has to be Elvis!!

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

40 thoughts on “Come Join my Festival of Bridges!”

  1. Jean, may there be a modest but appropriate number of happiness elves to appear out of nowhere to dance and sing in a delightful manner. May they each bring a tasty treat that is delicious yet healthy, as well as some valuable piece of treasure. May you giggle, laugh and sing at a level just short of a loudness that would cause neighbors two blocks away to call 112 or 999. But most of all, may you have the kinds of thoughts most extraordinary and splendidly gratifying, with the added pleasure of knowing you don’t have to explain the silly grin on your face to a living soul, lest they blush. Mercy Jean!

    1. Hello Joan, thanks for your good wishes.
      I’d be thrilled if you’d take part in the Festival as I’ve done very little over the years about Cork’s great bridges but am very aware of some of them, at least.

  2. Happy birthday Jean! I presume they had a ferry before the bridge? Do you know where the first Suir crossing was, presumably upriver somewhere? I’ll have a think on your challenge.

    1. Hi Roy, yes they had ferries in Waterford City before the bridges. I’ll have to investigate the first Suir crossing. Now that’s an interesting question, given its length.
      I’d be thrilled to have a Jersey bridge ~ especially an old, haunted kind of one!

  3. Well, now I feel sheepish. Sometimes I get behind in my readings… then I “binge-read” my faves, which is what I am doing this morn.. all this to find out that while I was busy cooking for someone else’s birthday, I missed yours. Sigh.

    I do hope your day was absolutely wonderful and you can rest assured I will be sending you some bridges! I’m already at the point that when I see one, I think of YOU! No matter where! How do you like them apples, eh?

  4. Happy belated birthday, Jean 🙂 It appears that Dale and I have “binge-reading” in common… I too think of you whenever bridges come to mind and hope your 57th birthday year is filled with life’s greatest blessings 😉 ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

