Blog, Blog, Bloggin’ Along

fridge

I only realised quite recently how having a ‘personal’ blog can take the  slog out of doing everyday chores that are a challenge to sanity.

Yes, I know that some people love hoovering, washing saucepans, dusting, emptying the rubbish, cleaning the bathroom, de-frosting the freezer, searching for socks ….. but I just don’t.

Soooooooooo, where does the blog fit in? Well, I’m finding that the worse the chore, the more I’m leaning into it to draw out fresh angles, memories, inspiration, fun, musical, poetic, artistic and dance connections.

So, as I brace myself to attack the fridge which is full of good intentions gone to gunge, I’m planning to do it to music which will have me bopping around the aisle kitchen ~ it just has to be Buddy Holly ~ and thoughts of that great summer afternoon in London at the Buddy Holly Story

Pencil and notebook will sit on the counter to catch the flow of thoughts as my gloved hands and masked face burrow into the volcanic mountain that may well explode like early  Halloween fireworks at the very first touch.

Ah Halloween …. now there’s a thought! Trick or Treat?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Blog, Blog, Bloggin’ Along”

  1. Makes all the difference, doesn’t it? “I feel a blog post coming on,” is now a stock phrase with the lads 🙂

    Could live without the huge earthworms in the pic though….

  2. Lovely picture SB – the woman bears a striking resemblance to your avatar. ha! Cute worms. It’s always interesting to note what great authors such as Hemmingway or George Bernard Shaw or SOCIALBRIDGE use as inspiration. Bwahahaha!

  3. A consummate procrastinator, whenever I determine the need to vacuum (my least favorite activity in the world), I simply login to WordPress. It’s such an easy and preferable alternative. 🙂 As for the accompanying image, that would never happen here as we are voracious eaters.

    1. Hi Eric, how interesting you mention vacuuming (or hoovering) as I call it! I’ve found the answer to my loathing for that ~ go for a swim in the ocean and stay in even longer than one normally might ~ come home and race around with the hoover. Warmed up in no time and job done which still on the crest of a wave!

    1. Andrea, you really got me thinking with this comment as I’m wondering if there is scope to find all sorts of inspiration in the process of ironing. Given that I have a Mount Everest of ironing waiting to be addressed, I just hope there is a way to take the drudge out of it.

      I was thinking about collars, creases, steam, linen, hankies, wrinkles, drip-dry and, of course, mountainy songs, poems, paintings, photos, places. Oh and what about ‘ironing things out …..?

  4. You said “I know that some people love hoovering, washing saucepans, dusting, emptying the rubbish, cleaning the bathroom, de-frosting the freezer, searching for socks “.. Name them!! ❤

  5. I am with you on this one, Jean! Hoovering, floor washing, fridge and stove cleaning… all fall in the same category of UGH! I was meant to be a princess with servants to do this crap.

    I honestly don’t mind the laundry and ironing. And, come to my house and that’s pretty much always up to date! The rest…. not so much. Thank goodness for kids and a husband to help out!

Leave a Reply

