So Typical!

People collect all sorts of things and my late father was no exception. He was a sucker for cartoons which he cut out of papers, magazines, basically anywhere if they made him laugh.

Mostly, they lived in small bundles in little brown envelopes and he would always take an envelope or two with him if he was going on a train journey or to  places, like tennis clubs to pick us up, where he was likely to have time on his hands.

I was leafing through one of his art books this morning and this particular cutting floated onto the floor.

It made me laugh and think of how he loved to rile us women in the house by making outrageous statements about ‘a woman’s place.’ He would put on his most innocent look and remind us of his West Clare upbringing at a time when dowries and the like were still part of the agenda.

The gas thing about it all is that he was the first one to give conformity a good shake when he wanted and to highlight the abilities, potential and achievements of women in all sorts of different fields.

Humour

Thanks for the chuckles and the backhanded humourous encouragement, Dad!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “So Typical!”

  1. Too funny. That character was hilarious.Personally, I’d attach the chisel and hammer to the table wth chains so they couldn’t be used against me or thrown at me as I was running away. Ha!

    Fun post Jean.

    1. Thanks Paul! Yeah, Dad would always know when to be ready to make a bolt for the door if he was showing any of these cartoons to Mother or me. We’d give him banteriish hell!

Leave a Reply

