Send out Your Boats!

“If  you don’t send out your boats, they won’t come sailing in.”

I was reared on this saying and had been under the impression that it was first uttered by some very important personI went looking this morning, but can’t find any references to it so am assuming, until I hear differently, that it was a makey-up of my parents.

It’s a saying that I think of every time I enter a writing competition, especially by post. I have no qualms about giving my entry a heartfelt kiss before popping it into the letter box in the Post Office.

It’s all about creating hope, isn’t it?  Okay, one has to be prepared for the fact that some of the boats will get washed up along the way but it’s always good to know that one has boats gone out that may well come back to  safe harbour with an abundance of hope on board.

I mentioned this to an artist friend a while back and this was his lovely response:

A Boat called 'Hope'
A Boat called ‘Hope’

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “Send out Your Boats!”

  1. Never heard that saying Jean – maybe a Tubridy-derived ‘nothing ventured nothing gained.’ Sure where would Ireland be if St Brendan hadn’t set out to explore in his little boat 🙂

  2. Thanks for this (timely, for me) and encouraging post. I get so discouraged about my writing efforts, and tend to forget that one of my problems is my reluctance to actually send things out! Working on that… Sandy

    1. Sandy, I’m delighted that you found encouragement in these wise words. Yes, get the stuff into an envelope, go to the post office and give it a good luck kiss in front of everyone!

Leave a Reply

