Blog Names

IMG_5767
Newtown Wood, Tramore, Co. Waterford

I’m absolutely fascinated by the names of blogs must confess that I can’t resist having a look at those that tickle my imagination.

I spent forever coming up with the name Social Bridge as I wanted to be just that: a connector, a linker. To tell the truth, I thought the concept of social bridge would take off like wild fire and get the whole world thinking along the same lines as me about people, places, events that have been, and continue to be, bridges in both public and personal life.

(The latest social bridge I was talking to was the ‘lolly pop lady’ who guides the small school kids across the road just round the corner from us. She always has a big smile and told me the other day that she reckons she gets more hugs than anyone else in Tramore. I stood there and witnessed quite a few and suspect she is probably right.)

Even though I’ve been disappointed, I still love the idea of social bridges and cling to the hope that its power as a concept will catch on and change the world.

The  Viaduct, Drogheda, Co. Louth
The Viaduct, Drogheda, Co. Louth Photo: Frank Tubridy

Today, September 30th, feels like a social bridge to me as we cross into October. September 2014 will never be here again; we had our chances with it and our experiences of it.

Crossing into October, I look forward to Autumn tints, chestnuts, lighting the fire, my birthday, seizing as many opportunities as I can to swim in the sea, planting bulbs that will present the first signs of Spring and identifying,  seeing, hearing about and  meeting all kinds of social bridges along the way.

So here’s to social bridges and their potential as we step into a new month and a whole new season!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Blog Names”

  1. I, too, enjoy seeing all the fabulous blog names (find mine particularly dull – though the food one is a play on my name so, more fun! Dalectables…)

    I love your choice of name – it invokes exactly what it says, bringing two sides, ideas, people, feelings, etc. together!

  2. I like the name of your blog, besides of the real meaning of link between people, it drags me to my old desire learning how to play bridge which is a social activity. Branding isn’t easy at all and sometimes few letters/characters without a meaning are on top but those companies really invest a considerable amount of money in their branding campaigns. On the other side, a good name (easy name) hepls a product/blog/service to integrate fast and deeply into brains. For example for me “connecting people” will ever be Nokia’s slogan even they do not use it anymore as “Feel the difference” works for Ford. As you wrote, yes, it’s a big deal with naming things.

  3. When my first husband and I moved into our first home, our 33 rpm vinyl albums stretched for most of the six foot bottom shelf. In those 2 merged collections, the only duplicate title we shared was S&G’s Bridge Over Troubled Water. Alas, the troubled water took out that bridge.

  4. I’ve never really thought about blog titles to be honest. But I guess everyone has their own story as to how they arrived at theirs. Yours certainly is idealistic and compelling Jean.
    Many years ago the Cork Examiner used to be sold widely in England. They had a section called ‘Hands Across the Sea’ to appeal to expats. Many were the little postal orders I won for the colouring competition – even though I was (and am) hopeless at anything like that. The winners must have been drawn at random or on a rota basis 🙂 But that would be a good blog title.

    1. Roy, you amaze me as your title is so appealing and appears to be the product of much thought. Maybe you’ve a lot more talent in this and in colouring than you ever thought.

  5. Guernsey and Jersey refer to each other as ‘The Rock’ and both islands refer to Alderney as ‘2,000 alcoholics clinging to a rock’, which is pretty accurate 🙂 Maybe my colouring-in is still stored in a basement somewhere in Cork!

    1. What does Jersey and Guernsey refer to Ireland as, or do they bother to think about us?
      I hope you signed the colouring-in so that when it turns up we’ll be able to identify it!

Leave a Reply

