Sporting Passion, Jersey, and the Ryder Cup

It would have been impossible for me to marry someone who didn’t have deep interest in sport. I just couldn’t cope with questions like: What on earth is a topspin lobor What the hell has an eagle got to to do with golf?

Well, I’m glad to report that I found ‘love’ on a tennis court and the guy who courted me and whom I eventually married was a keen sportsman who played about 6 sports at representative level and continues to have an absolute passion for sport in general.

Our honeymoon  on the lovely island of Jersey coincided with the Ryder Cup in 1991. When we arrived at the hotel, hubby  made a mad lunge at the television to be sure that it had all the stations necessary to see every shot of the competition.

Jersey was stunning, with its beaches, coastal paths, seafood restaurants on tiny harbours,  The Lavendar Farm, La Mare Vineyard, Jersey Pottery and, of course, nearby Sark Island with its feudal regime.

The Ryder Cup was played in Kiawah Island, South Carolina that year and really it was like we became bi-located once it got underway on the Friday.

Watching the Preview of this year’s competition with hubby last night, I got a tingle of excitement and a real sense of deja vu when when he said of Ian Poulter: Here’s your man!  My man in 1991 was undoubtedly Seve Ballesteros, who I had been fortunate enough to see in the flesh here in Ireland and who is without doubt the most handsome man I have ever laid eyes on. And what an inspirational golfer, not unlike Ian Poulter!

The 1991 Ryder Cup was unbearably close and we travelled home on the Sunday as the latter stages were unfolding. My parents had invited us for tea but weren’t in the least surprised when hubby shot passed them to catch the last few holes in which Europe were just pipped.

I can imagine that this could well be some people’s idea of absolute hell but somehow the Ryder Cup gives me a biennial reminder of the extent to which our marriage is built on a shared love of sport of all descriptions.

It’s all in the genes, as we both come from sporting families, and I could only smile when our son told me the other day of how he was shocked and horrified to be asked by someone: How many games are in a tennis match?

So, best of luck to the smiling Paul McGinley and his fabulous European team.  We’ll be watching!

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

24 thoughts on “Sporting Passion, Jersey, and the Ryder Cup”

          1. I am one of those sports fans (and a once competitor, too) who values sportsmanlike conduct as much as the skill and talent displayed by elite/professional athletes. While a gifted tennis player, Mac was no role model or great sportsman. IMHO, of course. 🙂

            1. Eric, I quite appreciate where you’re coming from! He certainly was unique and part of a great era in tennis. Must say I think that Roger Federer is the ultimate when it comes to having it all!

    1. It’s all very well in theory but it’s definitely not over ’til that final point is in the bag! Imagine having to putt from 8ft to win the thing. Nerves of steel required. But I hope you’re absolutely right!
      Good luck to them all.

  1. I actually feel sorry for those people who have no interest in any sport though everybody need not be as passionate as you Jean 🙂 We’ll be getting no sense out of you this weekend then!
    Jersey is a very sporty place. Rugby is the big attraction these days with the local team high in the UK pyramid. Hope you make it back here someday.

    1. Roy, if you want to see passion, just imagine hubby at the All Ireland tomorrow supporting his beloved Tipperary. He’s just the pink limit and that even beats Banagher and the divil!

  2. How clever of you to find a like minded husband. So much to share!! I spent a lot of wondering what if anything hubby and I have in common. .. They boys and the Newbie I guess xxxx

    1. Hi Willow, thing is he couldn’t cope with a non sports mad lunatic either! These days keeping fit is making mad runs at the telly or punching the air like disco dancers. Nothing clever about it; just fundamental requirement. 😍

        1. No never that organised. Frantic dashes to the kitchen to cobble some nosh while the ads are on. Starving a possibility if no shopping done ahead. But who needs food when looking at dishy golfers; not me anyway!

    1. The Hopman Cup must have been great.
      I was fortunate enough to get tickets for Wimbledon one year and was there for a week. It was beyond my wildest dreams and they were very wild indeed.

Leave a Reply

