Now and Then

Derelict Cottage on the Tramore-Waterford Road
Derelict Cottage on the Tramore-Waterford Road

Now and Then

Do you see me driving passed you
admiring your tired eyes?
How many stood at your doorway
greeting and saying goodbye?
One day when I stop will you
tell me your life story?
 
 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Now and Then”

    1. Many thanks Willow. I absolutely loved your poem
      Isn’t it interesting how size of house doesn’t matter much in these circumstances except I suspect the smaller ones may have a better chance of being rescued

  1. The poem is beautifully written and perfectly illustrates that photo. If only the walls could talk– I’ve also often wondered about the people how once lived in houses that are now abandoned.

  2. There are so many abandoned farm houses in the part of the country where I grew up — I sometimes used to dig up starts of flowers, mostly phlox, iris, sweet rocket, peony, from the old yards that were turning to pasture land. The houses would be used like barns for a few years to store hay, then torn down with nothing left to show where they’d been but maybe a chimney stub, or a few iris that had spread to the ditch.

  3. I too pass this house quite often and I always think of the old song that my late dads friend almost always sang at family gatherings. He had a booming voice and could really sing. Here is a couple of lines, maybe they are mixed up but here goes.

    Lonely the house now and lonely the moorland
    No light in the window no welcome at the door
    Where are they now, some are dead some have wandered
    No more to their home will the children return.

    A very sad song but the house looks forlorn anyway.
    Thank God you can’t hear my attempt at singing it 🙂

    1. Liam, thanks so much for these poignant lines. I’ll be asking for a rendition of them next time we meet!
      By the way, I noticing that some of the old cottages on that road are being demolished as I write. Hard to believe that all evidence of their existence is being bulldozed away.

Leave a Reply

