5 Key Things I’ve Learned about Blogging

Mount Congreve Garden, Co. Waterford
Mount Congreve Garden, Co. Waterford

I’ve been blogging for three and a half years now and have written 700+ posts so I suppose it’s time to sit back and have a think about what this whole experience has taught me. Here’s my top five observations:

# 1. My blog is like my home in the virtual world ~ a place that I’ve built with love and furnished to my very own taste. I realise that my taste won’t appeal to everyone but a blog just couldn’t work for me if I didn’t feel totally at ease with it.

# 2. Blogging becomes a social activity from the second one turns off the ‘Private’ button. This brings both limitations, such as having to be careful not to offend or libel, as well as huge opportunities. The opportunities are mind-boggling in terms of the extent to which what one writes can potentially be read right across the world within seconds of hitting ‘Publish.’

#3. Blogging can be addictive and habit-forming. The more one blogs, the more one gets from it and the more one gets entangled in the whole world of blogging. Taking a break can cause ‘withdrawal’ and the extent of the addiction is really only felt when one takes a break. Undoubtedly one of the things I miss most when not blogging is the interaction with other bloggers who I have come to see as co-travellers and, in quite a few cases, friends.

#4. Blogging takes time ~ and one has to consider the opportunity costs. Is blogging ‘time well spent?’ Is blogging time ‘best’ spent? I think these are very key questions and ones that need to be re-visited often.

#5. Blogging, for me, is about writing about subjects that are close to my heart. It is also about recording aspects of life as it unfolds. I like the idea of being able to look back at posts I wrote say this time last year to see what was going on. It is an activity that has heightened my awareness of what’s going on around around me and turned what may have seemed like the mundane into specialness that will probably resonate with someone, somewhere.

Connection
Connection

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “5 Key Things I’ve Learned about Blogging”

  1. I accord with everything you’ve said here, although sometimes the addictive part of it is a problem for me, as I can use it to avoid doing something else that I’ve mixed feelings about, such as submitting work to literary agents or housework!

    1. Sarah, I agree totally about the addictive part. I think I’d always find excuses not to do housework but the submission thing is one that definitely doesn’t seem very compatible with blogging, for me, anyway. I reckon I’d need to cut myself off from social media totally. Maybe there’s a way to multi-task on this but I certainly haven’t found it.

    1. Hi Dana, I’ve been thinking about your comment since I caught a glimpse of it earlier. I don’t think I quite agree in that I feel my blog, anyway, is far too informal and ‘personal.’
      I definitely think that some types of blogs can be like a business card or CV and I suspect that’s what they are intended as.

      1. Right! Perhaps I should add “what recomment us at least for a hobby”. For my side I would insert a link with my blog in my CV and I would love the read one in another CV to have a better judgement in hiring someone…jmo

  2. Nice perspectives, Jean. Ones, I believe, you can only see clearly after having been at it for a while. Just yesterday I shared with one of my younger sisters that blogging has created an awareness in me of many differing views on a wide variety of topics — some shared by very knowledgeable people. I consider it a valuable community, in many respects.

    1. Hi Eric, yes I never cease to be amazed by the range of topics about which people blog. Also, it seems that blogs are becoming places which are extremely useful and reliable for research. Obviously, the camaraderie is crucial too, though!

  3. I love your 5 keys Jean. They resonate with me! Connections while setting boundaries are important, and tuning inwards rather than getting caught up in some of the external drama and hype. 🙂
    Val x

  4. I love the round-the-world connection with other bloggers (like you) and though I hadn’t realized until you mentioned it – the journal-like aspect of looking back at our own posts could be quite useful. And are those your flowers? That color is almost unbelievably luscious.

  5. Yes, the global connections through blogging are quite amazing.
    Glad to have heightened your awareness of how a blog has time-related features of a journal.
    As for the flowers, they are in a gorgeous garden, Mount Congreve, which is world renowned and just a few miles from where I live here in the Sunny South East of Ireland.

  6. I love what you’ve done with your place, Jean 🙂 Indeed, our blogs are our virtual homes away from home! I’m still working toward my first 100 posts, but have come to think of my “place” as a nice spot to meet people and stash stuff I’d like to remember 🙂 ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

