Give Thanks and Thorny Issues about Personal Blogging.

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

It’s been a roller-coaster of a few days at a number of levels and I felt it best not to write here as I felt I could say things that I might later regret.  Perhaps some bloggers operate at a far more distanced, professional level than I do and press ahead with posting no matter what’s going on.  I could certainly do that  if this was a different type of blog but one of the features of a ‘Personal Blog,’ as I see it anyway,  is that they mirror what’s going on in the writer’s mind/heart ~ or else demand that one dons a mask and that’s not really something I’m very interested in doing.

Anyway, last night I had the most delicious swim at high tide in Garrarus and it seemed to wash away the angst. It was one of the highest tides of the year and I was there just as night was closing in.

As I lay floating over the big, friendly waves, the words ‘Give Thanks’ came to me. They always make me smile because way back in the early 1980s, I yearned for a pine bed but being an impoverished student such a luxury seemed way beyond my grasp.

However, I put all my faith and trust in a friend who knew all about horses and he swore that a horse called Give Thanks would win me the price of the bed over time if I invested the £5 I managed to scrape together from coins that I found in old purses, backs of drawers and down in the depths of ragged pockets.

Give Thanks was trained by Jim Bolger, who has gone on to be one of the leading trainers in the world of racing. Give Thanks and her jockey Declan Gillespie kept on winning for me and she even won the Irish Oaks, which is for three-year-old thoroughbred fillies, in 1983.

My pine bed materialised and was beyond precious in my little bedsit  apartment in Dublin.

Last night, in lovely Garrarus, I gave thanks for all the good and the great things that have happened over the years and there have and continue to be many.

By the way, the ‘friend’ who spotted Give Thanks all those years ago became ‘hubby’ almost ten years later!

Horizon of Hope at Garrarus, August 13, 2014.
Horizon of Hope at Garrarus, August 13, 2014.

I’d love to know how other personal bloggers deal with writing/not writing when on an emotional roller-coaster? Do you pour it all out; write about something ‘objective’; refrain from posting or …..?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

15 thoughts on “Give Thanks and Thorny Issues about Personal Blogging.”

    1. Thanks Clare!
      Glad to say ‘calm’ is pretty well restored. Even took in an early swim at Newtown this morning. It was divine!
      Yes, see you at Garrarus soon! Have been loving your watercolours and photos.

  1. Though my blog is somewhat personal, the ex-husband was abusive, so I have to stay somewhat refrained. I suppose I count on people to follow me, and pay close enough attention to read between the lines accurately. That’s a huge leap of faith, to say the least.
    Then I think of Brene Brown’s TedTalk on shame/vulnerability and creativity and I get strong enough to trust myself and make that leap. We only get the one life. There is no right way. We might as well be authentic, no?

    1. Coloradobird, sorry for the delay in responding to your comment. It slipped through the net, somehow.

      I’m really sorry to hear about the abuse you suffered. How absolutely horrible!

      Yes, I think there is a place for ‘reading between the lines’ and regular followers seem to do that pretty well!

      And, I’m all for ‘authentic’ to the greatest extent possible. The idea of false smiles doesn’t appeal to me at all!

      Look forward to reading your blog and to keeping in touch, j

      1. No worries on the delay. (And the abuse is a distant memory – almost like it never happened.)

        Authentic is often more difficult that it seems. We are different in different aspects of our lives, and with different people. I am different at school than I am at home, or with my in-laws, or with my kids. Which is the authentic me? 😉

  2. Hi Jean,
    I hope you are well and that things are quieting down for you. I enjoyed your story about Give Thanks. It is something I do every day. Yesterday I posted for the second time in two months, due to travel and hosting friends. I think personal lives must take precedence over blogging, but it’s good to keep your toes wet.

  3. This is a great story Jean … and I think you handled the situation with grace. You found your middle ground by getting out of your head and into your body, and reframed your thinking into a place of gratitude 🙂
    Never write from a place of anger. Your intuition was right!
    Val x

  4. It seems these past few days since the full moon that people have been experiencing big emotions. My writer friends have been pouring out their angst over book sales. The whole world has grieved for Robin Williams and Lauren Bacall. I’m still grieving for the loss of the wonderful James Garner. And my friends who have anxiety seemed to be amped up in that departmetn right now. Even I have felt weepy for no particular reason. Perhaps you were just experiencing your personal connection to the group consciousness. Glad you’ve made it back to center and continue to write your lovely words for our comfort and your beautiful photos for our peace and pleasure. Much love. ~SandyPenny

    1. Ah thanks, Sandy. I agree that the global losses have been a sad backdrop, especially in recent weeks and months.
      I suspect that the turn towards lovely Autumn is another bittersweet factor.
      I’ve plenty of real cotton. hankies, should you need one. Long live well ironed crisp white men’s handkerchiefs.

Leave a Reply

