Raw Nakedness

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

There are times when nature seems so much at one with me that I can hardly bear it and early this morning at my precious Garrarus Beach was one of those.

I had some fairly deep-rooted dental work done yesterday afternoon  and woke feeling very raw indeed. Puppy Stan greeted me with such enthusiasm down in the dawny kitchen that I just had to give him a gummy smile and succumb to his pleading eyes to go for a walk.

It was like we caught Garrarus before she had time to get dressed. The tide was lower than low and it was like she was doing everything possible to show us her roots ~ her beautiful reflective roots.

Here’s a sense of the wide open, cleansed, untrodden space that welcomed us:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “Raw Nakedness”

  1. A completely different aspect at low tide – if that shoe could talk! As you’ll know Jean Jersey’s south-east coast becomes a moonscape on a average low tide, and awesome on spring tides, such is the rise and fall.
    Take aspirin 🙂

  2. When I saw raw nakedness, I thought it to be a post about losing elderly parents. I have avoided reading those yet, because that is too raw, too naked feelings, for me just yet. No, I have not lost mine yet, but we are in the stages. Somehow, and I cannot explain it, though I love your writing and have enjoyed the posts about your parents, I cannot yet click intentionally on the tab “losing elderly parents.” I am home this week again, enjoying a blessed time with my beloved sissy and dad and mom. I found instead, the puppy Stan, the beach and endless waters, and felt buoyed up with the amazing gift that words can give to each other.

    1. Suz, thanks for writing and for your honesty. I’m sorry to hear about your parents and more than understand your reluctance to read posts about the process of losing elderly parents. I have often thought about having a separate blog for this topic but really my parents influence and legacy continues to underpin much of what I write and photograph. As the saying goes, people may die but relationships don’t. Thankfully, I will always be their daughter.
      I’m glad you liked the photos. It was so peaceful at the beach and Stan is a wonderful companion. He has finally started to go swimming and loves when the tide is out and there’s big rockpools
      One of these days I expect to see him tearing into the waves.

  3. A lovely collection, Jean, and Stan is simply adorable. I can see why you chose this beach as part of your healing process. Well written and I do hope you feel better soon!

    1. Thanks KwH. Yes, the shoe continues to be a source of wonderment to me too. It was washed away on s high tide but now there’s another one – a red sneaker with white laces. Who knows their stories, I ponder.

Leave a Reply

