Things for which I am grateful #233 – 274 – Art.

This is a magnificent post and one that should appeal to all art lovers.

Thereisnocavalry

As you’ve probably gathered, the arts are a huge part of my life. And this is my mantra:

Without the arts,

We have no culture.

Without culture,

We have no society.

Without society,

We have no civilisation.

And without civilisation,

We have anarchy.

Which, in itself, is paradoxical, because so many artists are viewed as rebels to society. To me, artists aren’t rebels, they are pioneers. They show us new ways of interpreting the world.

Art galleries are my cathedrals. They are the places I go to escape from reality and immerse myself in the presence of their genius.

Here are a few of my favourite artists. (I haven’t included ones that I’ve already written individual posts about, such as Modigliani, Chang or Lautrec.)

As you can see, I’m quite traditional in a lot of respects. What I love about much of the impressionistic work is the space, light, colour, composition…

View original post 223 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

7 thoughts on “Things for which I am grateful #233 – 274 – Art.”

  1. I love this, Jean…and David! I like that idea; artists as pioneers. I do agree that artists show us different ways of seeing and expressing. As one of my favorite artists, Georgia O’Keeffe, once said, ” I found I could say things in color and shape that I couldn’t say any other way…things I had no words for.”

    1. Hi Nancy, I thought this would appeal to you alright! It’s magic, isn’t it?
      Love the quote from Georgia O’Keefe. I’ll have to check her out. She sounds like my sort of artist!

  2. Beautiful reblog, Jean, and I love this line…”To me, artists aren’t rebels, they are pioneers. They show us new ways of interpreting the world.” I agree and my appreciation for art on all levels has expanded as I’ve grown older. Have a wonderful Sunday…xx

Leave a Reply

