The Grand Finale ~ Wimbledon 2014

I can’t remember a time when Wimbledon fortnight wasn’t the centre piece in my sporting year and Men’s Finals Day has always been incredibly special.

It’s a day with a long build up and yesterday was no different;  a walk up the hills with ‘puppy’ Stan and a quick swim in Garrarus, thinking about Wimbledons past and present.

Mother might as well have been with me  talking about Fred Perry and how she listened to Wimbledon Finals on the radio as a child. Then there was the year that she ‘discovered’ Andre Agassi in one of the very early rounds when I was off playing tennis somewhere. He became her prodigy and certainly served her well!

Mother on the Grass Courts of Tramore Tennis Club in the early 1960s
Mother on the Grass Courts of Tramore Tennis Club in the early 1960s

And there was a day that Mother and I stopped in Dungarvan for a cuppa, only to hear that Jim Courier had been beaten in the first or second round. Devastation of devastations for Jim and me.

And, of course, all those Men’s Finals with such great rivals ~ they flow back endlessly to wooden rackets, Dan Maskell’s dulcet tones and culminated yesterday in that thriller between Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic.

Roger Federer and Novak Djocovic. Source: Getty Images
Roger Federer and Novak Djocovic.
Source: Getty Images

But what a game of skill, passion, athleticism, touch, power, sportsmanship and sheer excitement was played between these two greats. I was hoping that Roger Federer, with his ballet dancer movement and flowing one-handed backhand,  would win and was in ecstasy when he pulled back to win the fourth set. That fifth set had me eating cushions, nails, hiding behind the sofa, pulling my hair out … but it got to a point where I didn’t want either man to lose. I just wanted the magic to go on and on …..

Victorious Novak Djokovic Photo: Getty Images Europe

The grace of  Roger Federer in defeat and the humility of Novak Djokovic reduced me to tears. Yesterday, it felt like the world of tennis was a big, big winner.

It will take me a year to get over yesterday’s final ….. but I’m already thinking about Wimbledon 2015!

If you can meet with triumph and disaster 
And treat those two imposters just the same; 
(Rudyard Kipling)

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “The Grand Finale ~ Wimbledon 2014”

  1. Yes it all seemed very exciting over the radio on Sunday I have to say. Really though, like F1, I’ll only really pay attention if a Brit is involved. That’s a great picture of Mum Jean though it seems that Tramore TC were less strict on colour code than Wimbledon is.

    1. Oh it was brilliant, Roy! One of the very best of all time.
      I’m not sure I can even imagine an Irish person getting to the Final or even fairly well into the draw. Such a pity as tennis is pretty high profile here now.
      Yes, the pic of Mother always makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

