Bloggers, Let’s Talk about ‘Calls to Action’

 

I read a verrrrrrrrrrrrrry serious article yesterday about  the fundamental importance for every blogger of having  strong, powerful, alluring Calls to Action.

Calls to Action make me think of lots and lots of things including:

1. Hands up everyone who said the Rosary last night  ~ still the stuff of vivid nightmares with nun glaring at me when I was in first or second class!

2. Open Wide ~ horror of horrors in the dentist’s chair.

3. Grab your togs. We’re having a picnic tea at the beach ~ ah yes ~ bliss!

4. Let’s Twist Again 

5. Gather ye rosebuds while ye may …. (Robert Herrick)

So dear friends of the blogosphere,  please let me in on the secrets of your Calls to Action?

Tree

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

20 thoughts on “Bloggers, Let’s Talk about ‘Calls to Action’”

  1. Lets see…
    “Woof” at the back door.
    “Honey, where’s my …”
    “Do you want to go for a walk… have a glass of wine… go out for dinner…?”
    “I need a hug”
    ” and breathe …”

  2. I don’t think having a blog necessarily imposes upon one a duty towards social activism. Having said this, I do use mine to promote awareness of ideological gender injustice and parental alienation, on occasion.

    1. Navigator, I’m very much with you on this. The nature of the blog is so important and what the rationale for writing it happens to be. I suspect lots of people blog far more for their own edification than for anything else and would have been the journal keepers of the past.

    1. Hi Val, your photographic skills are so brilliant, it doesn’t surprise me that you have this ‘problem.’ However, being asked endlessly to work for ‘nothing’ can be a right pain!

  3. When I’m feeling the opposite of proactive and someone is trying to persuade me otherwise, one of my favourite sayings is, “I’ll do it when the spirit moves, whatever the spirit is.”
    I think that sunshine motivates me into greater activity than grey skies.

  4. This was one of the ‘nonsense’ criteria that the Irish Blogs Awards were judged on last year. 1-10 for ‘calls to action.’ No guidance as to marks to be awarded if (as navigator1965 above) it’s not that sort of blog. I don’t want to call anyone to action 😦

    1. Roy, I agree that it seems like ‘Calls to Action’ have become part of the formula for blog writing. But, I more than agree that such formulas can be meaningless, depending on the blog and the motivation of the writer.
      It’s only the odd time that I really want to call people to action and that tends to be on social issues about which I feel action is badly needed.

  5. Jean, it seems some of your friends would agree with me that the “fundamental importance” someone else believes need be imposed upon others is equivalent to so much stinky organic mulch that might be found about on a cattle farm.

  6. Jean Absolutely agree with all the comments. CtoA only relevant if you’re trying to sell something and plain bad practice to use your blog as a direct selling tool rather than your webpages (IMHO).

    1. Thanks Vanessa. Have to say I have huge issues with blogs that lure me in with interesting posts and then turn into sales pitches for anything from books to services.

Leave a Reply

