‘It’s Only a Refill’

Sometimes, it’s the smallest things in life that rock you back on your heels  and last night I had one of those smiling WOW moments.

Park Hotel, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford
Park Hotel, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford

I was in the Park Hotel in Dungarvan, having a  snack and doing a bit of scribbling while waiting to collect son after a tennis match. One cappuccino led to another and when I went to the bar to pay my grand total of 8.50 euro for what had been a delicious supper, I mentioned to the man behind the bar that I’d had a second coffee that wasn’t on the bill.

His response: Forget about that ~ it’s only a refill.

Now, I don’t know about you, but the days of coffee refills are but distant memories to me and they extend into misty times before I’d even heard of a cappuccino or a latte!

Yes, I’ve heard of the new ‘thing’ of people paying ahead for the next customer in coffee shops and at toll bridges but never, ever of a ‘refill’ of cappuccino.

My sheer delight in the gesture and the good-nature that went with it wasn’t about the money, it was about the goodwill involved.

Thomas, the bar supervisor, assured me that I wasn’t just a chosen one but that this is policy in The Park.

You’ll be back, he said, smiling at my amazement.

I certainly will, I said, meaning every single word.

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “‘It’s Only a Refill’”

  1. It truly is the small things in life that make our day! What a wonderful thing.. I’ve NEVER heard of a free cappuccino refill – regular coffee, yes – cappuccino, no!

  2. I love those little surprises in life, and it’s a great customer appreciation tool that does create return business. But, those gestures are not as frequent as they used to be. Happy to hear your inspiring story.

Leave a Reply

