What I’ve Learned

I’m a great believer in learning from the wisdom of others and this post from the woman I’ve come to know as Jennifer, TheFieryRedHead, is more than well worth a read, no matter what age you are.

thefieryredhead

In honor of my illustrious birth I began thinking about lessons I’ve learned, good and bad, over the past oh-so-many years. Why is it that those lessons learned the hard way are the ones that truly stick…and beam so proudly in my soul!

Sunset nyc

1. Believe people when they show you themselves. This is slightly stolen from Maya Angelou but so outrageously and completely true. Continuing to try and change people or waiting for them to change isn’t going to happen. Believe them the first time.

2. Trust your gut. Your gut will get louder as you get older but those feelings you had a child about certain situations…you know that you knew!

3. Consider the source. My father gave me this pearl of wisdom when I was planning my wedding and thought I might kill a certain family member. In so many situations since then I have calmed myself down…

View original post 725 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned”

Leave a Reply

