Mother’s Last Words

It was this day five years ago that I heard my mother’s last words to me. She was in hospital, having had a stroke shortly after being told that my father (to whom she had been married for 60 years) was dying.

She lingered in a deep, deep sleep for just four and a bit days after the stroke and it was on the evening of the third day that she last spoke to me. I was holding her hand and told her that our son, Harry, had sent his love.  She opened her eyes, squeezed my hand and said just three words in fading tones ~ LOVE, Love, love …

I wasn’t with her when she died but it matters hugely to me that the word Love was the last one that we would share.

She was a woman who truly knew the meaning of the word Love ~ and absolutely cherished nature in its broadest senses.  I couldn’t but think of her when I took this photograph of the trees on the road to The Pier in Tramore the other evening.

Summery Trees in Tramore, Co. Waterford
Summery Trees in Tramore, Co. Waterford

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “Mother’s Last Words”

  1. We are the rememberers the people left behind
    To keep the one who is gone from us
    Alive in heart and mind
    The people left to cherish and preserve a legacy
    Yes we are the rememberers and we always will be

    1. Dale, many thanks for writing. Yes, she had a passion for trees and those trees are on the road to the Pier ~ a road that I associate hugely withMother, hot Summer days and ice creams!

      1. Fantastic – what a lovely association!

        Though my father didn’t have a sailboat all that long (about a dozen or so years), I always associate sailboats with him!

    1. Thanks Willow! I feel very fortunate to be able to see her all sorts of things, but nature is definitely the strongest with poetry a very close second ~ and of course, my son’s hair which is burnished gold, like hers. jx

  2. Oh, Jean, this made me cry (and I am in a waiting room having taken my mother-in-law’s car in for an oil change, so I’m getting some funny looks). I am so sorry for your loss. What a very moving piece, and what a lovely tribute to your mom. I hope it will be words of love on my tongue when I leave this world.

    1. Naomi, YOUR comment made me laugh as I can just imagine those funny looks in and around the garage. (I’ve been there and done that!).
      Yes, it was a lovely way to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

