Are You Totally Addicted to Someone Else’s Blog?

Past and Present
Past and Present

There was a time when I couldn’t miss a couple of TV Soaps ~ with Coronation Street and Glenroe being absolutely unmissable. The arrival of baby in 1995 seemed to put a stop to that and I never got back into them.

A few months ago I came across a blog that has me totally and utterly hooked. I just have to read it everyday, no matter what. It’s called A Hundred Years Ago and is a brilliantly crafted work in which a middle-aged grand daughter, Sheryl, brings us the entries of her grandmother, Helena’s, diaries which she kept from 1911-1914. Helena was aged between 15 and 19  when she wrote her diaries.

Sheryl remains true to the short entries and engages in a conversation with her grandmother, who died in 1980, as well as setting the context of the time and place ~ central Pennsylvania where Helena was living when she wrote the diaries.

This is clearly a labour of love and one which has captivated the imaginations of many readers ~ who, like me, can’t wait for tomorrow’s episode.

I’d love to hear about blogs that you are addicted to as I shudder to think how I’ll be when 1914, or is it 2014, draws to a close.

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “Are You Totally Addicted to Someone Else’s Blog?”

  1. When I lived in Ireland I followed the most hilariously vulgar blog by a Waterford girl living in Italy. It was unmissable. I still have it bookmarked bur regrettably Jenny’s last entry was 1 December 2012 😦

  2. Gosh, those dandelions looks so pretty! And thanks for the link to that blog-sounds fascinating. If the definition of addiction is something that comes between you and your life, well, then I’m addicted to blogging in general. But no, not any one specifically.

Leave a Reply

