What Really Matters in this Crazy Life?

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

It was like the first of the Summer wine here in Ireland today and I managed to go for two gorgeous swims in Garrarus.

As I sat on the hot sand this afternoon playing with handfuls of colourful grains, I found myself thinking about the elections to the European Parliament which take place on Friday. More specifically, I was trying to identify the things that matter deeper than deep to me and that I want the MEP for whom I vote to care about and pursue with absolute passion.

My list in the sand read like this:

  • Rejuvenate Hope for all those who feel beaten, bowed, stressed and suicidal as a result of the Economic Recession;
  • Ensure that everyone has a decent place to live that they can call home;
  • Work to significantly improve the quality of life of vulnerable groups in society ~ especially people with disabilities and older people who are feeling utterly confined;
  • Seek to protect this beautiful planet of ours;
  • Peace, Peace, Peace
  • Sincerity, Honesty, Humanity and Humour. 

I’ve sat in Garrarus Beach with Grace O’Sullivan who is one of the candidates who is running for election. I know that she would do everything in her power to make deep inroads into my Wish List.

I sincerely hope that she is elected and plenty more like her as we need to make changes to the horrors that are around as well as conserve the brilliant things.

Thank goodness our society has moved to a point where we have a vote that we can cast.

What would be on your List of  What Really Matters?

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “What Really Matters in this Crazy Life?”

  1. Off the top of my brain, my list would include everything on yours, Jean! 🙂 I hope your wishes do come true and I wish the same for all around the world…there are too many horrors that we hear of and they are just beyond heartbreaking…

  2. My list is very similar to yours. Peace, redistribution of wealth so that everyone could live comfortably. Really I suppose that I really wish that the whole human race could just suddenly understand that we are here under licence, we are not special we are just another breed of animal. We have no right to lord it over all the other creatures in the world. We need to realize that we cannot just keep vandalizing our poor beautiful planet . We are not the masters of our purpose we are here to learn and so far we humans are a huge fail! Sorry i ran on a little there!

  3. In addition to yours Jean I wish that someone, somewhere would find a lasting solution to the desperate, invasive and ever-growing issue of drug abuse which is blighting the world. That solution – the squeezing out of the market for this stuff – is within the power of world governments. The reason they don’t act is that there are no votes in it.

  4. Hi Jean – what really matters? People not stuff. Relationships and community not status. I’m with Willow on our role – I see it as ‘stewardship’.

Leave a Reply

