Paths not Pathos

I dithered about going  to Mount Congreve Garden yesterday because of the rain but the thought came to me that there may well come a day when I can no longer walk and I will wonder how I could ever have let rain stop me going to places I love.

I drove out to my haven with a real sense of purpose and freedom. I have no idea why, but paths were on my mind from the moment I set foot in the lush gardens. In many ways, it was like walking indoors because the heavily foliaged trees served as huge canopies, especially throughout the wooded parts. The voice of the rain was like a duet to all the birdsong and provided the perfect music as I made my way along the winding paths.

Mount Congreve, like life, is all about choice and each time I go there I seem to find a new path and, anyway, the paths take on different appearances as the weeks pass and bring new blooms and lit up areas. Here are some of the paths that lured me along:

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Paths not Pathos”

  1. Oh wow, Jean! Look at those paths! They are simply gorgeous! (To think you could have missed out on discovering them because of a little rain!)

    1. I know, Dale! They are amazing and I know they will never look the same again ~ never, ever. No doubt, they will still be beautiful but a different shade of beautiful

  2. What a kaleidoscope! Plants and flowers perk up in a shower Jean. Best time to see them, especially as there will be fewer people about. And it’s always great to find a path less trodden.

  3. I loved your statement in the beginning that there may come a day that you can’t walk so you would wonder how you would ever have let rain stop you! So very true – I think of that when I am on the treadmill or exercising, not really wanting to! I love your pictures and the beautiful paths you chose – I wrote about one of my favorite paths in a post http://wp.me/p3lVEh-1b have you ever walked a labyrinth?

  4. GG, many thanks for writing and I’m glad that the post resonated with you.
    Thanks, too, for the link to your lovely labyrinth piece. I really enjoyed it. I tend to call labyrinths ‘mazes’ but maybe labyrinth is a more positive word!

Leave a Reply

